Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

2 More Days June 4, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 12:40 pm

It’s Monday, and Mondays are hard.  It’s hard to get up out of bed in time to get to work.  It’s hard to get the kids out of bed in time to get them to school.  It’s hard to think about the 5 days ahead of you before the next weekend.  So we all need a little motivation. 

My motivation to get up this morning stemmed from the fact that I only have two more days of work before I’m off for the summer.  I haven’t had a summer off in years!  Only teachers know the real joy of summers off as an adult.  I have always been jealous of teachers for that one simple fact.  While having the summer off means I am unemployed again, we’re saving money by not having to send the kids to camp or daycare.  And I’ll now be home to prepare for the move and take the kids on daily DC adventures with friends and family before we depart at the end of the month.

I started my job just three short weeks ago.  (Oddly enough, it feels like a lifetime ago!)  A week and a half into my new job, Jeremy got the job offer.  We immediately started thinking about how we were going to handle everything.  The first thing that came to my mind is that I should quit my job so we don’t have to force the kids to adjust to the new school and camp they were set to start on June 18th.  Since I wasn’t enamored with my job in the slightest, this was a really easy decision.  I was set to be done this Friday, but they already found my replacement and want to get her started quickly.  Fine by me!

So I hopped out of bed this morning (despite a late return after our 7-hour drive from Providence), eager to get today and tomorrow over with so I can move on with my life.  I am ready to put this chapter behind me and embrace the time with the kids.  Jeremy keeps asking me if I am really going to be able to handle the two of them all summer by myself, and honestly it does scare me.  But I am confident that by making the most of the time we have here and embracing the move together in Providence, we’ll come out much stronger on the other end.  (And I’ll be that much more eager to return to work in the fall! ha!)

Just 2 more days….  In the words of the cast of High School Musical 2 (that the kids watch every time we go on a road trip), “Summer…  Summer…  Summer… Summer…”

I’m linking up with Nain at View From Down Here for her Motivation Monday. 

 

2 Responses to “2 More Days”

  1. Alaina Says:

    Sorry I didn’t see this post sooner, but you’re linked up! Enjoy your summer! By now you’re at the 2 day mark 🙂

  2. I’m so glad we’ll have some time together before you head up to New England for a whole new chapter of life and family. I’m a packing pro… and also look forward to have Mason and Coop out here for fun time. Love you all, meema


Leave a comment