Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Couldn’t Resist February 27, 2011

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 7:54 pm

I got a new baking tool this week.  The Beater Blade by New Metro Design.  I was so excited about this tool that I could not resist baking something right away.  And since it has been almost a year since I made what I still consider my favorite cupcake of all time, I couldn’t resist diving in.

I found this recipe a year ago when I was looking for something to make for my sister’s baby shower.   I chose to go with a white chocolate frosting instead of the dark chocolate because of the color theme for the shower.  This time I was ready to try it with the chocolate, though.

Almond Cupcakes with Dark Chocolate Frosting by Pete Bakes!

Unfortunately the dark chocolate icing turned out really runny and never solidified enough.  Not sure if it was me or the recipe, but to make myself feel better, I’m saying it is the recipe.  So I went with my backup – a vanilla bean almond frosting from goodLife {eats}.

Just reading the recipe, I knew it was going to be good.  And thankfully I had gotten some vanilla beans a few weeks ago in hopes of making something with them, and this was the perfect recipe to try first.  And it was so easy, especially with my new beater blade.  I did not have to scrape the bowl once!  I could not resist this frosting.  I kept licking it straight out of the bowl, and when I put it on the cupcakes, it enhanced the almond flavor so much more.  Seriously this is my new favorite frosting.  To try it with chocolate cupcakes as it was intended is my next step.  I can only imagine.  For now, I’m going to eat yet another cupcake – I just can’t resist.

 

2 Responses to “Couldn’t Resist”

  1. Jen Says:

    I SO wish I had gotten to try some of these — they sound awesome!

  2. meema Says:

    I’m hungry already… Are there any left? Girl Scout cookies are getting really old! Love, meema


Leave a comment