Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

A Social Break January 2, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 11:08 am

It was time.  I needed a social media break.  It’s amazing how addicted a person can become to Facebook.  I was to the point of checking it at least 10 times a day.  If I was in between tasks at work, I’d check it.  If I was waiting for water to boil for dinner, I’d check it.  If I was waiting for my shower to warm up, I’d check it.  My life was taken over by Facebook.  And it’s not like I even posted all that much.  It was just that I was addicted to checking what others had posted.  It got to the point where I felt like only 20% of the time was I actually glad I checked it.  A link to a funny or interesting article; a great video or some good news or photos from a friend.  Otherwise, I was reading people’s posts that I could care less about; that I haven’t really “talked” to in years!  Or I was feeling bad about myself because my life was not as “good” as people were portraying their lives to be.  And then I’d worry about what I was doing wrong or what I was missing out on.

And last week (with the help of a conversation with my sister), I realized that what I was doing wrong was checking Facebook too much.  And what I was missing out on was MY life.  No, it may not be as glamorous as others’, but it’s great for me.  It’s MY life, and I need to appreciate it.  I need to focus on it.  I need to relish in it.

So I deleted the app off my phone and iPad. I deleted the bookmark in Chrome.  It will take a lot of effort for me to actually check Facebook.  It’s been 2 days, and I’m doing ok.  I feel like I’m missing out on something, but I’m sure that feeling will subside soon.  And honestly, I’m still checking Instagram because I only follow family members, a few friends, and bloggers.  So in a way, I’m still connected.  But without Facebook, I am gaining time in my day and time with my family.  I’m able to focus on what’s really important instead of what people on Facebook think is important. I don’t know how long this hiatus will last.  Hopefully I can detox from the addiction of Facebook enough to be able to slowly introduce it back in and only check it every once in a while.  I’ll plan to really clean it up so that I’m only following those that I want to and that have a positive impact on my life.  It’s MY life, and I want to live it actively, not passively.  I want to live it positively, not negatively.  Call it a new year’s resolution or just a change in lifestyle, but I definitely think it is long past due and very much needed for me.

Have you set any resolutions for the New Year?  Mason resolved to eat more chocolate (ha!) and study her math facts more so she can get every problem right on her math quizzes.  Cooper resolved to eat more veggies!  (Seriously love these kids and their ideas!)

 

Leave a Reply

