Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

A Quick Thank You October 8, 2013

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 7:00 am

Yesterday marked 21 years since my dad’s accident.  While not a big milestone (like last year’s 20!), it’s still a day that my family takes to reflect back on my dad’s life and the memory he has imprinted on us and those around us.  I don’t usually make a big deal about it outwardly.  I reflect throughout the day, look over pictures, and generally just try to live my life the way I think would make my dad proud.  Some years I watch the amazing slide show video that was made for us all those years ago.  And some years I’ll tell extra “Grandpa John” stories to my kids.  Sometimes it’s just the little things that help me through the day.

October 7th snuck up on me this year, though.  I’m thankful that it happened to be a Monday, which is when I work from home anyway.  I had a little more time to reflect than I would have being at the office and rushing through my day.  My mom posted a few pictures and memories on Facebook, so I thought, why not?  I’ll put a few up too just as a quick honor to my dad.  What’s amazing is the outpouring of love received.  So many of my own friends were influenced by my dad’s short life.  They were there for me and my family as we struggled to heal.  They were there to keep my dad’s memory alive.  And they were there for me yesterday – commenting with memories, words of love, and just the fact that their lives were changed (even if just a tiny bit) on that beautiful fall day 21 years ago.  And even those people who never knew my dad but have come to “know” him through us are always there with just the right words to honor his memory.  I am so grateful to all of you.  Thank you for making yesterday easier with your kind words and your loving memories.

And to two of my oldest friends (you know who you are), who were locked up in my bedroom with me that afternoon…  I’ll never know truly how that day affected you personally.  But I will always remember how your friendship and love affected me on a day I felt my world crashing all around me.  The laughter and tears we shared that day are forever imprinted on my heart.   And you never let an October 7th go by without reaching out – either with an email, a text or a phone call.  Thank you doesn’t even begin to express how I feel when I hear from you.  But I’ll still say it – thank you…  for yesterday, for last year, for 21 years ago, and for every year in between.

Scan0014

 

12 Responses to “A Quick Thank You”

  1. Beautiful, Robin. I couldn’t have said it better if I had tried for 100 years! I love the photos you added to the album…and as you, I am so very touched by the outpouring of love and support, still some 21 years later. Dad touched so many lives in so many ways–from family to friends and neighbors– to those he worked with and flew all over the world with…and you and Jen make him proud each and every day, I’m sure. love, mom

  2. Rachel Says:

    Robin – October 7th is a day of reflection for all of those who knew you then. The death of a friend’s parent at such a young age is a life changing event. To have it happen to your dad, someone we all considered a mentor and friend, makes it a lasting experience for all of us. What I remember most is the strength you showed in the days following. I remember knowing I would have never have reacted with such grace and hope in the future. You probably got that from being raised by your awesome parents. I guess I want you to know it wasn’t just your dad dying, but how you chose to live a great life despite his death that has meant a lot to me in my life.

  3. Alaina Says:

    Beautiful, and I love that picture. My thoughts and prayers go out to your family…

  4. Sally Says:

    Robin, as your mom says, beautiful thoughts. You are an inspiration to us all. I often things of that October day so many years ago. Annie’s right, your dad would be so proud of you and Jen. How he would love being with his grandchildren. Keep telling those stories of Grandpa John!

  5. Debra jewett Says:

    Robin,

    I time to time read your blog as to find out what’s going on with you , Jeremy and the kids. Tonight I feel a connection that runs deep, that know words can describe…a loss, so devastating that the heart knows no other pain. I am so sorry that this happened to you and your family. Until you live through it and it becomes a personal experience does it hold any real value or meaning. It is only an abstract reality instead of a deep seeded spiritual way of exsisting. It doesn’t matter when it happened, only that it did. I lean on you, pray for you, ask of you and tell to you my own story. In that is a connection that is forever sealed with the knowing…and that’s all there is…which is everything!!!

    Someday we can share, laugh & cry…it’s all part of the journey we call healing.

    Love you,
    Deb

  6. Alissa Says:

    My check-ins aren’t as timely as they once were now that I’ve kicked the google reader habit, but I loved seeing your pictures on FB and am always thinking of the Steinberger ladies on 10/7. I still remember your dad’s voice when he answered 771-1143 (!!!) with some silly greeting and our chats on the drives to school. Then and now – I’m so sorry that something so unfair happened to your family, and I admire how you guys got through it (and continue to do so). And of course, so proud of the enduring friendships with those amazing ladies who helped you along the way. xo to you, Robinski.
    p.s. Happy Birthday to your baby girl, too!


Leave a Reply

