Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Conversations With Cooper July 16, 2013

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 6:06 pm

At the end of Mason’s school year, the entire school put on an Arts and Music Night for the community.  Each grade had a theme and created artwork and performed a show based on that theme.  For Mason’s first grade, the theme was “America.”  For weeks leading up to the event, we heard Mason practicing several America songs.  From “Yankee Doodle” to “Grand Old Flag” to our National Anthem…

IMG_4523

Little did we know that Cooper was learning the songs as Mason practiced.  And now (especially following the Fourth of July), the kids are constantly singing these songs.  Subconsciously I start singing “You’re a grand old flag, you’re a high-flying flag…” in the shower.  Or while I’m cooking dinner, I’ll be belting out “Every heart beats true for the red, white, and blue and forever in peace may you wave…”  While I love me some America, I’m a little over all the songs and have mentioned it to the kids several times in hopes that they would stop singing them.

As Cooper got out of the shower tonight after camp, he started belting out, “…YOU’RE THE EMBLEM OF THE LAND I LOVE, THE HOME OF THE FREE AND THE BRAVE!”

Me: Could you please stop?  I can’t get these songs out of my head, and I want it to stop.  (in a Mommy-whining voice)

Cooper: But when I sing them, I think of Grandpa John.

Me: ….  (Exactly.  I was speechless.)

Oh how I wish my dad could have been here to sing right along with us and meet these two awesome children that I am so lucky to have.  He would have loved them even more than I do.

Scan0009-003

 

8 Responses to “Conversations With Cooper”

  1. Allyson Lussier Says:

    Ok. So that made me very sad. You are raising wonderful kids! Love you Robin.

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Alissa Says:

    Brings tears to my eyes! So bittersweet. Now I’m going to be singing YOU’RE A GRAND OLLLLD FLAAAAG in my head for the rest of the day (or maybe week? month?) and smiling. Miss you!

    • Oh great – now I’ve passed on the “curse” of having these songs in your head. 🙂 But yes, with smiles. Miss you too! Love seeing Liam grow! Can’t wait to meet him in November when he’ll be almost a year old. Can you even believe it?

  3. Jen Says:

    WOW. Coop is such a stand-up and thoughtful guy. Dad would be (is) so proud. Love you.


Leave a Reply

