Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Health Kick March 1, 2013

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 6:20 am

After another successful healthy meal tonight, I am beyond thrilled with my family’s new “health kick.”  Jeremy and I have been focusing on healthy eating and healthy living, and it’s working!  The kids are even enjoying the meals I’m cooking – that’s gotta mean something good is happening, right?

One of the big things we’ve done is to eliminate or majorly cut back on the carbs we eat at dinner.  We used to have meat (chicken, beef or pork), rice or potatoes, veggie, and bread.  Half of our plates were filled with carbs!  I slowly started cutting back on the bread.  We’d have rice or pasta but no bread.  If I felt bread went better with what we were having, I’d eliminate the rice and just have bread (with our salad or soup.)  Now, I believe I only make about 3 meals a week that include carbs.  And often, the other meals are carb-optional, and Jeremy and I opt out.  Some of the meals we’ve been having…  Fajitas with lots of veggies (tortilla optional, otherwise over salad), soup and salad, pork loin with green beans and salad, and even a meal of grilled chicken with quinoa.  (Yes, I tried quinoa and liked it!)

The big challenge this week is to have a meatless night.  Inspired by my best friend, Megan, at Nosey by Nature, we’re trying to go meatless one night a week.  I still have no idea what I’ll be cooking for my first venture into vegetarianism, but I’m leaning towards this Quinoa Veggie “Fried Rice.”  I’ll let you know how it turns out.  And if you have any other meatless meal ideas for me, please let me know.  I have a feeling I’ll run out of ideas pretty quickly based on my family’s likes and dislikes.

The key is that I’m trying.  We’re all trying.  Cooper has even told us on a few occasions how he wants to eat healthy.  He’ll decline something random saying he wants to be healthy.  Or he’ll ask if what he is eating is healthy.  I’m not sure if he is getting this from us or from school, but he is very focused on it right now.  I love it.  He’s always been our veggie and fruit eater, though, so it’s not a huge change for him.  At the store the other day, he actually picked out a gluten-free organic version of what I can only describe as “frosted flakes.”  While we usually don’t allow any sugar cereals in the house (other than on vacation or at Christmas), I took a look at the ingredients and compared them to our usual Quaker Oatmeal Squares and was pleasantly surprised.  The flakes were “better” for us with more natural ingredients.  I bought them and have actually really enjoyed them this week as a snack or with milk in the morning.  Now don’t go thinking that we’re going gluten-free over here!  I can’t take it that far.  I love me some gluten!  But it’s a decent cereal that just happens to be gluten-free.  It might just open up our minds to other gluten-free possibilities.

When it comes down to it, our health kick is really a lifestyle change.  The more we do it, the more we commit to it, the more natural it will become.  Then it won’t even be a health kick anymore – it will just be life….  the way it should be.

 

6 Responses to “Health Kick”

  1. All of these changes will be incredibly positive on everyone! So proud of you! Follow the 80/20 rule for eating. 80 good and 20 not so good. Still gotta have ‘not so good’ and gluten is NOT bad, but too much of it is not a good thing. Because how on earth would any of us survive without your incredible baked goods. I know I couldn’t! xoxo

  2. Way to go, Lakes! It’s definitely showing in how good you and J are looking these days. Bet you find you have more energy, too. One idea for meatless is quesadillas–tortilla, cheese, salsa–maybe some sauteed green, red peppers–in a skillet or under the broiler lightly.
    Enjoy and keep working at it! love you meema

  3. Alaina Says:

    Exactly! It’s a lifestyle change. Tough, but a really good thing. Best decision I ever made…if only I can get T to jump on board with that 🙂 Or at least follow my portion sizes…sigh.


Leave a Reply

