Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Mom Challenge – Day 29 January 6, 2013

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 7:44 pm

30 Day Mom Challenge

Day 29

Turn off your phone, computer, or TV when your child is with you.

First of all, it is Playoff Sunday, and the Ravens were playing.  There was no way the TV was going off today!  So let’s just get that one out of the way right now.  (Go Ravens!  Love Ray Ray!)

I am rarely on the computer during the weekend days.  We use our phones mostly since we’re out and about.  Then I get on the computer (to blog) at night when the kids are in bed.  So again, that one wasn’t so hard.

The hardest was turning off my phone (or just not looking at it.)  Both kids started their new swim session this morning at the YMCA.  A lot of times, I am usually trading glances between the pool and my phone.  Not today, though!  I didn’t look at my phone once during their swim lessons.  I watched them the whole time.  And while it does get a little boring (especially when the kids are swimming in the deep end and hard to see), I enjoyed focusing on what they were learning and how they were doing.

Once home, I think I glanced at my phone a couple of times like when the kids were playing upstairs by themselves.  And finally at the Providence Bruins hockey game this evening, I kept my phone in my pocket…  Well, except to take a couple of pictures!  (The challenge said nothing about cameras!)

My girl - in all her Ravens purple!

My girl – in all her Ravens purple!

My boy - celebrating being 5 and a hockey fan!

My boy – celebrating being 5 and a hockey fan!

All in all, I think I did pretty well with this challenge.  I’m glad it fell on a weekend too, because if it had been during the week, it would have been way too easy for me to only have to give up my phone for a couple of hours.  Doing it on a Sunday really pushed me to focus on them and not on all the social media and email.  It was even a bit refreshing.  I do agree that we are all too addicted to our smart phones.  We have a rule of no phones at the dinner table, but we do enjoy a dinner in front of the TV once a week.  I am going to try to put my phone down more after this challenge, but I also feel like we have a decent technology balance in our house.  There is always room to change, though.

One more day!

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Mom Challenge – Day 29”

  1. Alaina Says:

    I need to do this! I am entirely glued too much to the computer…


Leave a Reply

