Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Mom Challenge – Day 20 December 20, 2012

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 8:55 pm

30 Day Mom Challenge

Day 20

Today’s focus: Patience

Another big one!  Patience is the key to parenting.  I have definitely learned more patience since my kids were born, but I am far from being zen with it.  I tell myself every morning that I need to be more patient, and by the end of the day, I have to remind myself.  Today was no exception.  I woke up finally feeling better.  I was ready to take on my day and enjoy it (cough and all!)  By 7am, there was already yelling coming from upstairs.  Not a good start to the day.  I kept my cool until 7:58am when Mason was upset with me for not helping her tie her shoes and that she would be late for the bus.  I had no more patience for her attitude, and we butted heads yet again.  Way to go, Mom!  After then setting the car alarm off 5 times (very long story for another time), my patience was even less.

It took a venting to Jeremy and a venting to my mom to truly get through it all.  And by the end of the day, I was ready again – my patience back up to a high level.  Despite more Mason outbursts and Cooper’s incessant, “Do you know what?” questions, I kept my cool the rest of the evening.  (at least I think I did…  another mom trait?  selective memory)

I have the biggest test of patience coming up tomorrow.  We’re beginning our Christmas vacation with the first big drive to Maryland.  If 7 hours in the car with your kids isn’t the ultimate test of patience, I don’t know what is.  But I’m going to be ready.  Bring it on!

 

2 Responses to “Mom Challenge – Day 20”

  1. I’m blessed and thankful that you are able to get this stuff out. That’s a huge step. You are strong, you are thoughtful, you are loving and caring…and I love you, mom


Leave a Reply

