Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Mom Challenge – Day 18 December 18, 2012

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 8:43 pm

30 Day Mom Challenge

Day 18

Who is a mom you admire?  What quality of hers can you live out today?

I definitely admire my own mom.  She is a great woman and mother, and I learn a lot from her.  It’s funny – I actually feel closer to my mom now that we’ve moved away.  Now that may sound weird, but it’s true.  Living only an hour from her, we would see each other once a week usually – for lunch or a short visit or something.  But now that we live 8 hours from her, our time together is for longer visits.  When she is here, she really gets a feel for our every day life.  She melds right in and rolls with it all.  I appreciate that so much.  And because she is with us for longer periods of time, she actually sees us as a family, rather than the couple of hours of all of us putting on our best faces like before.  My mom recently sat me down after a long weekend and gave me some advice.

1) Take care of yourself.  Exercising is really important to mental health.

2) Treat your kids equally, no matter if one is being better than the other on any specific day.

3) Don’t be so hard on yourself.

I really took it all to heart.  My mom has been through a lot in her years, and for her to come out on the other end the way she has…  well, that’s just very admirable in my book.  I love her so much, and I hope one day I can parent my grown-up children with the same wisdom that she has with me and my sister.  (There’s that whole “wisdom” thing again.  It’s becoming my constant through this whole challenge.  I’ll have to reflect on that at the very end of it all.)

Thank you, Mom, for being there for me and for not laughing too much when I call about my exasperating kids and their antics!

 

4 Responses to “Mom Challenge – Day 18”

  1. This is beautiful and you should cherish that kind of communication that you have with your Mom. She definitely is a lovely lady and so are you! I agree 100% that you need to not be “so hard on yourself” – just saying. 🙂

  2. Wow…I don’t know what to say or write. I’m befuddled, blown away. You’re right, your moving 400+ miles away has had it’s blessings and challenges. While I miss the weekend visits with you and the kids, I’m relishing the mom-daughter time we have carved out for ourselves during longer visits, phone calls, and skyping. No doubt…I miss you, miss you all. Yet, life goes on, as we know well, and we cherish those special times that bring us all together, knowing that in the interim, we’re only a phone call away. You know I’m always here for you and that I trust you to trust yourself. You’ve “done dad and me proud.” You’re strong….you know your family, yourself, and the value of an open mind and open heart. Love, mom


Leave a Reply

