Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

A Reading Fool October 18, 2012

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 8:53 am

Lately, I have been reading like crazy.  It’s actually very odd for me, even though I was an English major.  I guess I just never felt I had the time to pick up a book and read, nor did I want to.  (I did enough of that in college!)  I would have rather flipped through some pages of my Real Simple if I had a few free minutes.  But ever since my wonderful husband gifted me a Kindle for Mother’s Day, I’ve been on a roll.  I’m now on my 12th book since then, and I wanted to share what I’ve been reading in case anyone out there is looking for recommendations.

I will preface the list by saying that I read a lot of fluff.  It’s like my love of chick flicks and sitcoms.  When I’m reading, I want to be entertained.  I don’t want to be scared.  I don’t want to put a lot of thought into it.  I don’t want to solve a mystery.  I just want to read and be taken away into another person’s life, whether it is similar to my own or completely different.  So if you like is Jodi Picoult or Dan Brown, we’re probably not on the same page.  But you still may find something that interests you below.

  • Stories I Only Tell My Friends: An AutobiographyRob Lowe (One of my favorite books of the year!  Love, love, love Rob Lowe.  Loved hearing about his rise and fall and rise again.  If you loved his movies in the 80’s, if you loved West Wing, if you love Parks and Rec, you must read this book!)
  • Fifty Shades TrilogyE L James (Yes, I took the bait, and yes, I thoroughly enjoyed this book like most other woman in the world.)
  • I’ve Got Your Number: A Novel Sophie Kinsella (I love Sophie Kinsella.  This book is a great story about true love popping up where you least expect it and following your gut.)
  • Mini Shopaholic: A NovelSophie Kinsella (Not my favorite in the Shopaholic series.  I think I was just tired of Becky’s same old blatant ignorance of reality.)
  • Sugar Rush (Cupcake Club)Donna Kauffman (A new author for me, and honestly I bought it because it was so cheap.  I was burning through books and needed to ease up on the spending.  But I ended up really enjoying it.  It’s about a baker who opens her own bakery in a small town – right up my alley, right?)
  • Sweet Stuff (Cupcake Club)Donna Kauffman (A spin-off of Sugar Rush.  Who doesn’t love a good small-town romance?)
  • The Good WomanJane Porter (This was recommended on a blog I read.  It is not the same good-feeling chick lit that I normally read, but I enjoyed it.  A mom and wife tempted by a life away from all her unappreciated responsibilities.)
  •  How Lucky You AreKristyn Kusek Lewis (A good reminder that the grass is not always greener on the other side no matter how great things look from afar.)
  • Beach ColorsShelley Noble (I was so engaged in the characters in this one – a definite quick read!)
  • Swept Off Her FeetHester Browne (I just started this one and haven’t found a lot of time to read it between finally having a job and taking my real estate classes.  I am enjoying the bits and pieces I get to read at night, though.)

After getting a sense my taste in books from above, if you have any recommendations for books I can add to my “must read” list, please let me know!  Like I said, I’m a reading fool these days.

 

4 Responses to “A Reading Fool”

  1. Alaina Says:

    I so wish I could get back to reading. The only reading I do these days involve children’s books 🙂

  2. Alissa Says:

    Fellow fluff-lover here…have you read any of the Jennifer Weiner books? Or Curtis Sittenfeld? I really liked “The Next Best Thing” which is Jennifer Weiner’s newest one and it’s definitely fluffy (really any of her books are fun fast reads). “Prep” by Curtis Sittenfeld came out some years ago but it is so good. And in honor of your new geographic region I’d recommend “Maine” by J. Courtney Sullivan. It’s not quite light-hearted but the story is very absorbing and ultimately it wraps up in a satisfying way. I got lots more – just ask! Miss you…


Leave a Reply

