Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Going Fall September 22, 2012

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 2:50 pm

Happy First Day of Fall!  My favorite season is finally here.  And I’m even more excited because I get to experience it in New England!  The leaves have not started to turn yet, but we’re getting close.  I imagine that in just a few weeks, we’ll be in full fall color mode.

Since the leaves aren’t getting us into the fall spirit yet, I figured I would add a little autumn touch myself.  I changed out the centerpiece on our dining room table.  I have pulled out our fall wreath (just need to figure out how to hang it on the door.)  And I have changed up our entryway.  Take a look.

This hutch is right where we come into the house, and I love coming home to blasts of orange pumpkins and little leaf turkeys.  And I love getting to remind all of us to “Always be Grateful” with my little sign.  It’s these little touches that really make me think of fall.  Next weekend, I’m hoping to bring home a few pumpkins with which to decorate our front stoop.  I’ve been trolling the web and Pinterest for some alternative ideas for pumpkin decorating.  These are my two favorite right now.

Source

Source

Now just to implement.  I think I’ll need to pull Jeremy onto the design team to get it executed the right way.  (He is way more creative and crafty than me most of the time!)  Then we’ll be “Going Fall” all over this house!

P.S.  I got to reward myself with apple crisp!  In trying to stay in the healthy spirit, though, I tried the Low Cal Apple Crisp.  Sorry, but it’s just not the same.  It was decent the first night, but then I just felt like I was forcing myself to eat it so as not to waste it.  I eventually threw the rest away.  I’m realizing that some things are just worth the extra calories.  Apple crisp is one of them.  We’re filled up on chocolate chip cookies this weekend and then will be having birthday cake next weekend to celebrate Nana’s birthday.  But once we’re through all those sweets, I’ll try another apple crisp recipe.  I need to experiment to find just the right one that will become my staple.  If you have one you recommend, please post a link or the recipe in the comments.  I’d love to add a few more to the taste test!

 

One Response to “Going Fall”

  1. Had to do the apple crisp thing last week, myself–with Jerry’s apples. Pretty good–used the recipe in America Cooks, plus added some special K for the crispy, crunchy tough on top. Now on to apple pie! Sure do miss your chocolate chip cookies though! love, meema


Leave a Reply

