Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Holding Back September 7, 2012

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 6:02 am

School has officially started, which, in my mind, means it is fall.  No matter that we still have a few weeks before the official start of the season, I consider it fall.  I’m ready to pull out our decorations and just go for it.  I am especially eager to have a New England fall.  I have always dreamed of taking a vacation to Maine or upstate New York during the fall just to see all the amazing and vibrant colors.  If I had done that, I guess I would have been considered a “leafer,” but since I’m now a New England resident, I can enjoy the foliage every day!  I don’t have to vacation – I can just drive around the state of Rhode Island and enjoy the foliage any time I want.

But more important to me than beautiful foliage is apple season.  More specifically – apple crisp.  It’s synonymous with fall for me.  Apple pie is great and all, but apple crisp is my go-to dessert in the fall.  (Well, that and Wookie Cookies!)  I love the soft, juicy apples mixed with the crisp outer layer topped with cool vanilla ice cream.  Seriously, what can be better?  Unfortunately I just committed to losing several pounds and apple crisp is not on the menu right away.  I don’t usually like to totally deny myself of my favorite treats when trying to be more healthy (because I’m more about moderation than dieting), but after a summer of lots of ice cream, frozen yogurt, cookies and not enough exercising, I have to start out drastically.   And if I had apple crisp in the house, I feel my ability to moderate portions would be hindered.  So I’m putting it off.  I’m not even allowing Golden Delicious apples in the house.  No baking apples allowed!  It’s that serious.

Side note here….  How do professional bakers stay healthy?  I’ve been home without the kids for two days, and all I want to do is bake!  I know I can’t, though.  It would be way too much right now, and I really am trying to get us all to be a bit healthier after our gluttonous summer.  Baking is my hobby, so I want to do it to de-stress and unwind.  And I love to make others happy with my baked goods.  But if I baked as much as I wanted to, I would be bigger than a house!  So how do the professionals do it?  I was asking a friend about this today, who suggested it is like his love of wine.  He wonders how professionals in the wine business don’t get drunk every day.  Same thing.  I just don’t get it!

Like I said before, I don’t like to completely erase dessert from my life when I’m trying to lose weight, so I’m giving myself a reward.  If I can lose 4 pounds in two weeks (a good and reasonable start), then I will make myself (and the family) some apple crisp.  In the fall, that reward is worth it to me.  So I’m digging in my heels and holding back.  I’m cutting out a lot of the bad carbs.  I’m eating a lot more fruits and veggies.  I think the biggest reduction, though, will come from NOT walking to our local ice cream shop twice a week and NOT baking cookies just because I have more free time with the kids in school.  It’s a tough job, but I have to do it.  I need to fit in my jeans again!

I’ll let you know how I did when the two-week mark hits.  In the meantime, I’ll be drooling over the following apple crisp recipes trying to figure out which one I’ll make first.

Barefoot Contessa Apple Crisp

Healthy Apple Crisp

Betty Crocker Apple Crisp

Low Cal Apple Crisp

 

2 Responses to “Holding Back”

  1. Alaina Says:

    AH! I’m on a diet, too, so stop with the apple crisp! Must…have…apple….crisp….must….resist….

  2. I totally admire you, Ro, especially after having my last Maine breakfast for this year of blueberry pie and blueberry ice cream at the Sea Gull restaurant on Pemaquid Point. It was soooo good–just had to do it! As you, tomorrow, upon entering the home front door, the health kick begins with walking, stretching, running, and counting those calories. Love you and hang in, mom


Leave a Reply

