Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Back To School September 5, 2012

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 8:49 pm

School has started!  I can’t believe it is already that time.  Ok, yes I can.  It’s been a long few weeks leading up to this point.  The kids and I were getting sick of each other.  We had spent almost every waking hour together for the past two and a half months.  With no friends here in Rhode Island, we were forced to be with each other and only each other (except for the much welcomed guests who visited!)  While we had fun days, we also had hard days.  Days of missing our friends and family.  Days of wanting to talk to someone else our own age.  Days of just wanting our space.  So we were all excited to get ready for school and start the reality of this major move.

Mason was the first one up.  I think she was more excited than me!  She helped prep her backpack and buy her school supplies, and when that bus came on the first day, she was more than eager to get on even though she didn’t know a single kid.  I couldn’t have been more proud.  Her courage and excitement has continued.  She even asked me today if I could pick her up later than usual tomorrow at after care.  Hubba whaaaa?  She never ceases to amaze me!

Cooper was next.  I was definitely nervous about his re-entry into the school routine since he has been out the longest and was really starting to express himself in negative ways.  He seemed a bit scared the past day or two any time we would talk about school.  But I reminded him that he was not going to be the only new kid.  Everyone was starting this class at the same time, and so they were all new in a way.  And big sister, Mason, passed on words of encouragement as well.  When I dropped him off at school this morning, he hung on to my leg as expected.  But once we saw a little boy playing with some animal figurines, I got him and Cooper excited about building a zoo.   And that was that.  He barely even kissed me goodbye as he started picking out his favorite animals.  When I picked him up this afternoon, he was excited to see me, but told me he had a great day and had listened the whole time.  Again, my heart swelled with pride.

How did I get so lucky?  I’m in awe of these two.  After all we’ve been through with the move, I was really expecting a tough transition.  But they have more than impressed me.  They have surprised me with their strength, their bravery, their understanding…  So of course, after looking forward to the start of school for a while now, I am left alone and I find myself missing the chaos a bit.  Sure, I enjoyed exercising for an extended period of time this morning.  And yes, I loved watching what I wanted to on TV.  But I was eager to pick them up from school and hear all about the new adventures they are having without me.  That’s one of the best parts of this whole moving thing – we are each going to have our own adventures now during the week (meeting new friends, finding new jobs, working on new projects), and then we’ll get to come together on the weekends for family adventures.  It’s the perfect combination, and I can’t wait to share it all!

 

Leave a Reply

