Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

The Aftermath July 26, 2012

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 9:07 pm

We’re coming up on 4 weeks in Rhode Island.  I can’t believe how fast time is flying.  Today we found some Disney World pictures and commented on how that was just in March.  It feels like over a year ago!  So much has happened since March, and that was only 4 months ago.  Imagine what we’ll feel like come November!

I have been keeping busy with the kids.  Between keeping them entertained and peaceful to each other, getting the final touches on the house in order, becoming official Rhode Island residents with the DMV (and getting through all 3 books of Fifty Shades), it’s been a little hectic.  And I can finally start to see the aftermath of the move.  Here are some clues:

  • My back finally gave out.  I’ve been in pain for about 2 weeks, which is way too long for me.  I hope to stand upright without too much difficulty by the time August comes around next week.  (Fingers crossed!)
  • Cooper is whining about EVERYTHING!  Seriously.  Every time I ask him to do something, he throws a fit.  The combination of age four and a half and wanting attention and needing routine is a nightmare right now.
  • I’m lonely.  Luckily this week starts the incoming of visitors.  Nana is here now, my mom comes next week, and then my sister, Scott and Hayes.  I’m excited to have some adult interaction and some help with the kids!  And I love getting to show people around this new state of ours.
  • Jeremy is exhausted.  He’s working so hard – his routine has definitely set in.  He gets up at 6am now to catch a 7:20 bus and doesn’t get home until 6pm or 6:30pm.  That’s a long day!  He’s doing a great job at work, though, and I’m really proud of him.
  • Mason has matured (but still has her moments.)  She has become my little helper, and I have appreciated it greatly.  She’s my BFF here.  She still has moments of being 6, though, and then…  Watch out!
  • It’s time to start the job search.  I actually interviewed and was offered a job last week, but it just wasn’t the right fit or the right time.  I hope that is the beginning of a fruitful job search, though.  I’m going to really focus on telecommuting work, which should hopefully give us the flexibility we need (and I strongly desire!)

All in all, we’re doing well.  Heck, I get to walk/run along the water in the mornings with the sailboats gently floating in the harbor.  We can get to some cool beaches in under 45 minutes.  It’s under 100 degrees.  We go to playgrounds and evening concerts on the waterfront.  We can walk to the ice cream shop…  Life is pretty good despite the aftermath of moving setting in.  I think we’re going to be just fine.

 

2 Responses to “The Aftermath”

  1. Alaina Says:

    So glad you are settling in, and completely jealous about your view while running and the under 100 degree temps! Have a great time with your visitors!

  2. Jen Says:

    The first few months after a move are always the hardest. Hang in there, sissy — you’ll find your groove and new friends. We can’t wait to see you later this week!


Leave a Reply

