Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Divine Providence July 11, 2012

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 1:40 pm

I’m taking a break from The Moving Chronicles (Parts 1 and 2) to get a little sentimental.  Today is a special day in our house, and I’m excited to celebrate it.

10 years ago today, Jeremy proposed to me.  The crazy thing about it all is that he proposed right here in Providence.  Who would have thought that 10 years later we would be able to celebrate the occasion having just moved to the very city where our lives became officially entwined?

10 years ago, Jeremy and I started off on a 2-week New England adventure.  I had finished up work at a school and was preparing to move to Charlottesville to complete my Master’s Degree.  Jeremy had not taken a lot of vacation time, and had plenty saved up.  So we decided to test our relationship with a road trip, exploring our shared love of New England.  Our first stop was Providence, Rhode Island.  We arrived in the city mid-afternoon and set right out on foot to explore.  We walked all over the city, and by around 4:30, I was exhausted and hungry.  I had been following Jeremy around as he took picture after picture of buildings, houses, churches…  If it had any sort of architectural interest, he would take a picture of it.  (A peak into our future travels together.)  He finally stopped at the corner of Benefit Street and Angell Street.  Thank goodness, I thought, as I scanned the area for any place that sold food and drinks.  No luck.  I wanted to keep moving.  It was then that I realized Jeremy had been talking to me and had gotten all serious.  He was nervous and fumbling with words.  Something about divine providence bringing us here together on the corner of Benefit and Angell Streets.  Something about how I was his angel and I was such a benefit to his life.  Sadly, I don’t remember the whole speech since I was famished and confused.  I finally realized what was happening when he got down on one knee and pulled out a ring.  He asked me to be his wife, and of course I said yes!

What a way to start off a vacation!  And what a way to start off our lives together.  Now here we are back in Providence with our two kids, starting a new adventure…  a new chapter in our lives.  Is this divine providence that brought us back here?  Something makes me think that this is where we are supposed to be right now.  It’s crazy how life works.

Tonight, we’re going to take the kids to the corner of Benefit and Angell streets.  We’ll get Mason to take our picture (since she is learning from her daddy), and we’ll celebrate by going to the same restaurant we went to 10 years ago to celebrate our engagement.  We’re at a different stage in our life than we were back then, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.  The past 10 years have been the most “beneficial” to my heart and soul, and I can’t wait to see where this “providence” leads us next.

 

One Response to “Divine Providence”

  1. Jen Says:

    Yay! So excited for you all as you begin this new adventure. Sending much love on this very special day!


Leave a Reply

