Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Girls… April 9, 2012

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 6:13 am

The other week, I was driving two kindergarten girls to their Daisy meeting (yes, one of them was Mason.) when I caught a glimpse of the future.  I had my iPhone hooked up and my “Happy Kids” playlist on.  The playlist used to be called “Mason’s Favorites,” and I had filled it with High School Musical songs, Selena Gomez, Taylor Swift, and any other fun songs she liked from the radio.   (I have since added more Cooper-friendly songs, so changed the title.)  The backseat filled laughter and squeals as the latest Taylor Swift song came on.  They both started singing along whether or not they knew the words.  Then came a request for another Taylor Swift song…  and another…

Don’t get me wrong, I was enjoying every minute of it.  I love Taylor Swift and think she is a great role model.  But I definitely imagined this same scene playing out again and again over the coming years.  Whether it is Taylor Swift or the next big thing…  Just us gals driving along and singing our hearts out.  Some of my favorite childhood memories include the same thing – whether on the way to soccer with my teammates or driving to my friend’s house for a sleepover – and I hope Mason enjoys it as much as I do and cherishes the same memories when she is older.  She definitely loves music and loves singing along just like me.  It must be a girl thing.

 

2 Responses to “Girls…”

  1. Alaina Says:

    aw, so sweet! Definitely relish those moments!

  2. Like you and dad….does she remember every word to the song? How do you do that?
    Love, mom
    ps…it’s also weird the way she knows movie lines…deja vu?


Leave a Reply

