Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

30.7 Miles February 23, 2012

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 8:54 pm

30.7 Miles.  It doesn’t seem like a lot.  It actually seems pretty close compared to some of the other distances we travel on a regular basis.  64.3 miles to my mom’s house in Shepherdstown.  49.1 miles to the in-laws’ house north of Towson.  123 miles to my sister’s house in Charlottesville.  When compared to those distances, 30.7 miles seems like nothing.  But compared to .4 miles (roughly 2 blocks), it might as well be a day away.

The question over the past couple of weeks, though, has been “Am I willing to drive 30.7 miles each way to work in order to keep my job?”  As of last Wednesday, the answer became “no.”  (Actually it was more like a “hell no!” but we’ll leave it at that.)  For anyone that does not live in the DC Metro area, you may be thinking that I am crazy to give up a job just because I have to drive 30 miles each way to work.  People all over the world do this every day, and many travel even more than that.  In any other place, 30 miles could mean 30 minutes.  In DC, 30 miles could mean 30 minutes, 1 hour, even 2 and a half hours!   You never know.  And that was the crux of the problem.

So here I am, 1 week away from being unemployed.  I don’t want a pity party.  Obviously, this was ultimately my choice.  It was the decision I made for me and my family.  We’re used to the lifestyle we have created here in our little 2-mile radius.  My office, Jeremy’s office, Cooper’s school and Mason’s school are all within 2 miles of our house, and during the week, there is rarely need to leave our little area.  To add an unknown commute to our schedule would derail us.  We could manage it – don’t get me wrong – but it wasn’t worth the stress of the commute and not seeing each other much to do it.  My family has always been my first priority, and this choice allowed me to prove that. 

I’m looking for a new job, but I’m also enjoying a little downtime.  Between the physical issues of my shoulder and our upcoming Disney trip, this could not have come at a better time.  I’m going to cherish the extra time at home, the extra time with the kids, the laid back lifestyle…  Don’t worry – it will just be for a few weeks, then I’ll start panicking about the job search.  But after the stress my job has induced over the past year, I feel I am more than deserving of this time off.

 

2 Responses to “30.7 Miles”

  1. Cory Says:

    I only have one question: When will I be able to order cookies from your new bakeshop?? I’m (probably) at least one-third joking, but in all seriousness, best of luck in your next career (whatever it may be)!

  2. I’m glad you put this out there, boldly! I so admire you and Jeremy for holding on to your values and priorities. Like the old MacDonalds jingle…You deserve a break today…enjoy this time. Let go, live, and love…clear the decks. And don’t forget…all things work for the greater good. Love, mom


Leave a Reply

