Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Early Christmas December 1, 2011

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 5:37 pm

I love this time of year.  I love pulling out all of our Christmas decorations and remembering what we have, why we have it, where we got it…  The decorations all hold a memory.  Unfortunately I don’t have any ornaments leftover from my childhood, but I can already tell that Mason and Cooper love the tradition of pulling out the ornaments and putting them on the tree.  And hopefully I can pass some of them down to them when they have their own trees and traditions.

One tradition we have is to decorate for Christmas the weekend after Thanksgiving.  So with our bellies full of turkey, mashed potatoes and stuffing, we’re crawling into our attic to extract the dozen or so boxes, containers, and tins.  For some, that might seem a bit early.  A lot of people feel the need to wait until it is officially December.  But not us!  We want it up early because we take it all down only a few days after Christmas to prepare for Cooper’s birthday in early January.  We don’t want there to be any confusion of the two holidays.

So this past Sunday, after we returned from the beach and had raked all of our leaves to the front of the driveway for the last pickup, we started to make our home feel like Christmas.  The kids were way into it and very excited and eager to start putting ornaments on the tree.  (Only two broke this year, and one was my own fault!  I think that’s pretty good in the grand scheme of things.)

The hard part is getting the kids to understand how to spread out the ornaments. I think one section of the tree was completely filled up before I moved some things around.

Mason was being very careful and attentive.

Cooper was being very silly and disruptive. But we love him anyway!

The finished product. Oh Christmas Tree!

The stockings were hung by the chimney with care...

Some of my favorite decorations. The Christmas tree duo and tall Santa...

We had everything up and ready before we went to bed on Sunday.  It was funny because usually we feel like we have too many decorations.  But now that each piece has its designated spot, and we know exactly how it all goes, it felt like we were short on decor this year.  Which is great for me because I love hunting out new Christmas pieces.  If there’s a need, I have to fill it, right?  I mean, it’s my wifely duty!

In addition to my early Christmas decorations, I also got some early Christmas presents thanks to two friends and their home consultant businesses.  I threw a party for them and their products a couple of weeks ago, and got to enjoy some major discounts.  Since I’m so happy with what I got, I figured I would plug their businesses for all to see on this here blog.  Both sites offer some amazing ideas for Christmas gifts!

Stella & Dot jewelry.  Aren’t the boxes pretty?

Visit Shana’s site

Rendi customized signs.  I designed this all by myself!

Visit Teresa’s site

 

Leave a Reply

