Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Thankful #7 November 23, 2011

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 6:40 am

Today I’m thankful for family.  I’m actually thankful for my family every day.  But especially now as we get ready to spend a long Thanksgiving weekend with them.

I’ve been pretty open on this blog about how much Jeremy and I have considered moving many times.  We debated New England for a couple of years (and it is still a shimmer of light in the deep recesses of our minds), but no matter how much we envision this beautiful life up north, we always come back to family.  We could never leave our family.  We are so blessed to have everyone close by.  Jeremy’s parents are only an hour away.  My mom is just over an hour away.  Jeremy’s sister is 2 miles away!  And my sister, brother-in-law and nephew are just over 2 hours away (oh how I wish we were closer!)  The fact is that we have a great life where we are, and I think that is in large part to having our family so close.  How could we willingly give that up?  What would life be like if we didn’t live as close?

We couldn't cheer on the Ravens with Kristin if we weren't so close.

We couldn't experience Hayes' first trip to the Air and Space Museum if we didn't live within a short drive from my sister and then a quick trip on the metro from the city.

We couldn't have Nana come down every Wednesday if we didn't live so close to them.

We couldn't enjoy family trips to the orchard if we weren't all within a short drive of each other. (Photo courtesy of Mason.)

We couldn't celebrate birthdays with fun adventures like we do now.

We couldn't continue amazing traditions as easily if we weren't so close.

Not only am I thankful for my family, but also the traditions we have created together…  The memories we have with one another…  The laughter we share…  The bonds we make…  My life is better because of my family.  I would not be the person I am today without them.  So this Thanksgiving, I am giving thanks for a lot, but all of that would not be possible without the love of my family behind me.

My family is my home.

Happy Thanksgiving!

 

One Response to “Thankful #7”

  1. Alaina Says:

    Family is always a great thing to be thankful for, especially having them close to where you live! Happy Thanksgiving!


Leave a Reply

