Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Thankful #2 November 18, 2011

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 6:06 am

Today I am thankful for memories.  We live each day often in a blur – just trying to get through the day.  We barely recognize the events happening right in front of us.  It could be your daughter reading a new word for the first time or your son making a joke that gets everyone laughing or your husband telling you you’re beautiful…  or your dad singing Billy Joel at the top of his lungs while he drives you to soccer practice.  These are all memories that often get passed over until it’s all you have left.

Today would be my dad’s 65th birthday.  He’s been gone for the past 19 years, though.  He has missed many memories with us, and we have missed having him included in ours.  As each year passes, the memories of my dad comfort me even more.  I’ve realized how grateful I am to have the memories I do have of him.  Yes, I’ve missed out on some of the big ones – father/daughter dance at my wedding; seeing him hold my children for the first time; having him help us with projects in our first home…  But I have other memories that carry me through.

  • Playing basketball in our driveway and ping pong in our basement.
  • Hearing him cheer me on at my soccer games.
  • Him taking group pictures of me and all my girlfriends when we had our annual gift exchange.
  • Watching Top Gun in the theater for the first time.

There are many more that I recall each day.  I’m thankful for those memories.

And I’m thankful for all the memories I continue to make with my own family and friends.  Because as we get older, lives change and kids go to college, these memories that might seem trivial right now will be just the thought I need to put a smile on my face and warmth in my heart.

 

One Response to “Thankful #2”

  1. Love the old photo…how crazy were we? Was that the day we encountered the rattler up on the trail? Thanks to dad we have many good memories and photos to cherish and share with Mason, Cooper, and Hayes. And thanks to you, Jeremy, Jen, and Scott, there’ll be many more special moments preserved for the next generation. Love you, mom


Leave a Reply

