Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Thankful #1 November 17, 2011

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 8:56 pm

There is just one week until Thanksgiving.  The next 6 days will fly by with all the planning, cooking, traveling and just keeping up with the rest of life, and I feel like I need to take time out of all of that to be thankful for everything around me.  I feel it is better to understand it all now BEFORE Thanksgiving so I can truly embrace the day when it comes.

Today I am going to start with my husband.  I am extremely thankful to have him in my life.  It’s been almost 11 years since we first met.  I was grateful to have gotten the second chance to meet him because it led to me “knowing” he was the one for me.  And here we are…

The reason I am especially thankful for him right now is because I have come to fully appreciate the life we have together and the life we give each other when we’re apart.  See, we’re finally at the stage in our lives where the kids are grown up enough that taking care of them by ourselves is not as daunting as it used to be.  We aren’t knee-deep in diapers; we aren’t dealing with feeding schedules; we aren’t worrying about naps interfering with plans; we aren’t feeling like the kids need constant attention.   This all leads to us encouraging one another to go out with friends at night or to indulge in our hobbies (oh wait, we don’t have hobbies, but that’s another story for another time!)  We’ve built a strong foundation for our life together, and now we can finally get back to building our life back up outside of family – with friends, work, extracurriculars…

So I am thankful for my husband – for loving me, for supporting me, for encouraging me.  And I am extremely thankful that he allows me to pursue a life outside of him and outside of the family because I truly believe that to survive and thrive as a couple (and family), we need to each have something that is all our own.

 

Leave a Reply

