Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Halloween Fun November 3, 2011

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 10:00 pm

It’s 3 days after Halloween, and I think I’m still on a sugar high.  Honestly, I want to either throw all the candy away or just eat it in one big binge so that I don’t have to see it anymore.  I want to get back to eating baked goods.  Candy is nice for a change, but I’m done with it.  (Except for Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups because I can never be done with those!)

All in all, we had a lovely Halloween here in Maryland.  The weather was good after a weekend of snow and sleet.  The kids were on their best behavior and pumped to get to trick-or-treat with Daddy and Aunt Kristin.  And I got all the decorations up at the last minute in hopes of welcoming a lot of neighborhood kids.  Unfortunately there was only a knock knock knock on my door 5 times…  And the last one was my own kids!  Sad.  So sad.  Especially after the neighborhood listserv had everyone email their address if they were welcoming kids for trick-or-treating.  Still only four groups.  But the kids went a few streets over where the streets are less busy and the neighborhood is more active.  It was the perfect amount of Halloween for them.  The question for next year remains…  Do we stick it out and try to build the activity in our own neighborhood through consistent participation or do we defect and go to our friends’ neighborhood where they block off the street, eat hot dogs, serve beer and let the kids run wild?  Hmm…

I think these are their scary faces...

In case you were wondering... that's a Lightning McQueen race car driver and a Barbie Princess.

The Trick-Or-Treating Gang

The fam... Not sure why I felt it was necessary to hold up the UNICEF box.

And finally... the loot.

So Halloween is officially over.  Christmas decorations are already going up in stores and around town, but I’m counting down to Thanksgiving.  We’re renting a house this year at the beach, and I couldn’t be more excited for the extra long weekend!  Hopefully by then, I’ll be ready to stuff myself with food and sweets again.

 

Leave a Reply

