Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Parenting Lesson #847 September 19, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 5:38 pm

Parenting Lesson #847 – No matter how good of a parent you feel you are, your kids will tell you that you are the meanest mommy and daddy ever.

Before kids…  (heck, even just last year), if I heard a child call their parents mean or have choice words for them, I would wonder what the parent could have ever done to get their kid to speak to them that way.  Shame on me.  Just like every other parenting lesson – you never know until it’s happened to you.

This sweet girl…

…has been unhappy with our parenting skills as of late.  She thinks we’re mean.  She thinks we don’t know what we’re talking about.  She thinks we’re not nice.  And it hurts.

No matter that we’re doing our best (which I always say is enough), we’re still failing in her mind.  I sure hope this is a phase.  I hope she’ll grow out of it.  Even if just for a few years before we reach the pre-teen and teen years.  Because I don’t know how much more I can take of the attitude and the shrugging off and the doubt that comes with raising a very insightful, smart daughter.

I know the sweetness is in there – I just only get to see it in small doses.  I guess I’ll just hang on to those small doses to get me through.  Because we have to always remember Parenting Lesson #1 – You WILL make it through this.

 

Leave a Reply

