Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Trivial March 14, 2011

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 7:32 pm

Just days after I posted my goal to raise money for an iPad, a tragic earthquake and tsunami devastated parts of Japan.  Words cannot express how much this has impacted my heart.  The tragedy continues as aftershocks plague the already hard-hit areas and as a nuclear meltdown threatens the emotionally and physically tired, hungry, and lost survivors.  It is all just beyond epic proportions, and I am praying for everyone affected.

As I started my de-cluttering over the weekend, piling up stuff and then more stuff to sell or donate, I couldn’t help but think about how lucky I am to be choosy over what I keep in my house and what I get rid of.  It’s a privilege that some will never know and that those in Japan have lost.  I have excess while they have nothing.

It is my understanding that money is a much more helpful donation than anything else since the organizations dedicated to helping in the aftermath need funds to support their efforts.  Donating money allows them to allocate funds where they are needed most.  My “stuff” isn’t going to save lives or feed the hungry or build shelters.  So I am dedicated to making a donation from the sale of said “stuff.”  Over the next few months I will be selling things through Craigslist, eBay, and  yard sales.  All of my earnings will be donated to an organization aiding in the Japan relief effort.  Everything I want just seems so trivial now since there are so many people who need everything.

With this post, I am participating in Nain’s Motivation Monday.   I hate to say I am motivated by others’ loss, but that’s how it is, I guess.

I am motivated to help.  I am motivated to support.

 

2 Responses to “Trivial”

  1. Alaina Says:

    I know what you mean…it’s truly tragic. It makes you grateful for what you have, and I want to help too…how do you plan on helping? Thanks for participating!

  2. meema Says:

    I am so proud of you, Ro. I have been wondering how to help in such a desperate situation. My heart goes out to Japan. I remember so fondly how gentle and generous the Japanese people are…as I worked with colleagues in Hokkaido 1996 and 1998. I just can’t imagine their loss right now. You are doing something proactive…and I want to support your efforts in every way I can. Love, meema


Leave a Reply

