Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Getting My Groove Back March 11, 2011

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 1:39 pm

This past week has been a great cooking/baking week.  I started it off last weekend with some delicious homemade bread.  Do you remember those bread makers for which every couple feels the need to register come wedding time?  Do you remember using it maybe three times in that first year of wedded bliss before it got stuck in storage collecting dust for many years to come?  Well, I fished mine out of storage, cleaned it up, and made some bread!

10 minutes until fresh bread!

I used one of the Hodgson Mill boxed mixes made for bread makers, and it was a good start to get back into the groove with the thing.  Nothing too complicated.  Having the smell of fresh bread throughout the house was just what we needed on a rainy Sunday.  And as I flipped through the recipe/instruction booklet that came with the bread maker, I as reminded of all the things we can make using it.  Pizza dough, cinnamon rolls…  the list is endless really.

 

Finally – fresh, warm, delicious rye bread!

What you don’t see is the meal that was made to go with the rye bread.  Not only did I have the bread maker out, but I also had my trusty slow cooker.  I made a delicious beef and green pepper dish that we served over egg noodles.  It was delicious, but I forgot to get a picture.  I also can’t find the recipe online.  It was from the Rival Crockpot cookbook and involved steak, green peppers, soy sauce, ginger and onions (and probably a few other ingredients I’m forgetting.)

So Sunday’s dinner started the week off well with delicious food.  I was feeling good.  Monday was just grilled chicken, rice and salad – always a favorite in our house.  Tuesday is typically our Tex-Mex day.  All day I could not figure out what to do.  I bought all the ingredients for tacos, but in the end decided to put a little twist on it.  I pulled out a can of Grands refrigerator biscuits, molded them into my muffin pan and then filled each with my pre-made taco beef.  I put shredded cheese on a couple of them, but left most plain.  I popped them in the oven for about 15 minutes while our rice and corn cooked.  When they were done, everyone was excited to dig in.  Jeremy dubbed them “Meat Muffins.”  While that may not sound appealing to some, let me tell you – they were awesome!

Yummy!

Mason had turned up her nose a bit when I told her what I was going to do, but she has not stopped talking about these things since.  She keeps asking when I’m going to make them again and why didn’t we have any leftovers (um, because we all scarfed them down!)  Go Meat Muffins!

I finished off the week making my absolute favorite M&M cookies from Cookie Madness.  These cookies rock!  I made them for a dinner date we have at some friends tonight, which will help get rid of some of them or else I would eat the entire batch!

All in all, it was a good cooking week.  I feel like I’m getting my groove back.  I am inspired to pull the bread maker out again this weekend.  Not sure what I’ll make yet, but I’ll be sure to share if I’m happy with it.

 

 

One Response to “Getting My Groove Back”

  1. Alaina Says:

    Ok, I am intrigued by the meat muffins…that actually sounds pretty tasty!


Leave a Reply

