Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Growing Up (As Seen Through Pictures) February 25, 2011

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 11:32 am

I got tagged!  For those of you outside of the blog world, getting “tagged” means that another blogger recognized you in their blog and in a way “challenged” you to a specific type of blog.  Yesterday, I was tagged by Nain at View From Down Here.  So I accepted Nain’s challenge and went on the search for pictures of my childhood.

This process was luckily easy because after the big Switcharoom, a few things still have not found a home.  And some of those things were my photo albums!  I had a hard time picking pictures because I was hoping to find only ones of myself in an effort to not embarrass anyone else with childhood pictures.  Unfortunately that was not as easy, so I apologize to anyone who is included in the below pictures if you are at all humiliated by them.  Just remember it was years ago; we’ve all be there; and I’m right there next to you!

After finding the pictures, though, I had to scan them in.  After a failed attempt at work, I was resigned to finally fix our scanner at home.  Thankfully it was a lot easier than I had been telling myself over the last 2 years that it has not worked!  Within 10 minutes, I had all my pictures scanned in and ready to go.  Hold on!  Here we go…

I spent the first half of my childhood in Littleton, Colorado.  I loved living there and have such fond memories of our hikes in the mountains (even though at the time, I think I complained a lot!) and our awesome neighborhood.  I was quite the tomboy as you can see from the bowl-cut above.  (Wow!  I just saw Cooper in that picture.  Too funny.  Now that my scanner is working again, I’ll have to do some side-by-side comparisons in another blog.)

I LOVED ESPRIT as a kid.  LOVED it!!  I remember going to the PX on base with my parents, and my sister and I would run straight for the clothes, hoping to find the latest ESPRIT trends.  We were only allowed to get them at the PX because of the discount there.  Otherwise, they were too expensive, so it was quite a treat when I got new ESPRIT clothes.  The picture above was one of my favorite outfits.  The shirt had little tv’s on it, and the pants were striped with film strips.  Gotta love those go-go cuffs too!  My sister took this picture of me trying to be an ESPRIT model.  She did my hair all wacky and “stylized” the area.  I really thought I had a modeling career ahead of me.

Hard to believe that the baby in my arms above is my cousin, Whitney, who is going to graduate with a Master’s degree this spring and head into the working world!  Oh my gosh – where has the time gone?  While we grew up in Colorado, most of our family was back on the east coast.  When we finally moved back east to Leesburg, Virginia, we got to see more of them, which included my aunts, uncles, and cousins.  We were close with both sides of my family and often traveled to visit.  It’s one of the reasons I love living so close to our family now so that my kids can grow up knowing and loving their extended family.

Ok, now we’re getting into the humiliation.  (Sorry, Annie!)  Ah, middle school. This was before our first boy/girl dance.  We were excited but super nervous about what that all meant.  The dress I’m wearing was one of those cool ones that was all one piece, but looked like a separate top and bottom.  Yeah – cool, I know!  Looking back, middle school was an ok time for me, although I think I was a bit more witchy than I would like to remember.  We formed a club called BONS, which was “snob” backwards.  And let’s just say that we were pretty snobby.  I hope I made up for the way I treated people later.  So many lessons were learned in middle school.  What am I going to do when Mason is in middle school?  Will it be payback time?  ha ha ha

Now onto high school – the early years.  (Sorry, Kristen!)  Don’t you love that haircut of mine?  Back to the bowl-cut of the first picture, right?  We come full circle.  I really don’t know what I was thinking.  I hate looking at pictures of me from when I had this haircut.  And to top it all off, I also was on my second round of braces – entering 9th grade.  You can bet I loved that!  Still, this picture is special because it was probably one of the last ones my dad was able to take of me with my friends.  He always loved getting posed shots (just like my sister’s model shot above.)  In high school, my group of girlfriends had an annual gift exchange.  I think it started as a pajama gift exchange, but quickly turned into a lingerie gift exchange.  Why girls in high school needed special lingerie is still a mystery to me, but we thought it was cool to go to Victoria Secret and buy satiny panties for each other.  I hosted a few of the parties because I just loved it (and my parents loved hosting parties too), so my dad would get all of us girls together and get some amazing group posed shots.  I was tempted to include one, but it was a lot of girls, and it would include a lot of apologies to them.

When I moved to Portland, Oregon the summer before my junior year of high school, I changed a lot.  I was still rebelling a bit after my dad died during my freshman year, but I knew it was a fresh start for my mom and I.  I regret a few of the choices I made in Oregon, but overall made some great friends and really came into my own there.  The picture above was before our winter dance senior year.  I also used that same dress in my “formal” senior portrait.  Sadly I can’t find my senior portraits right now or else I’d include them.  I loved doing them.  I got to dress in 3 different outfits with 3 different backgrounds – and not just screen backgrounds; they were outside in nature and inside in a gorgeous sitting room.  There seems to be some sort of modeling theme going here, right?  Sorry about that.  I guess I like to pose.  Anyway, I really miss Oregon.  It was one of my favorite places to live mostly because of the beauty that surrounded us (and the second family I acquired there!)

I really have enjoyed this challenge.  Thanks, Nain!  I might even continue it with the college years and the BK (before kids) era with Jeremy.  Like I said, now that my scanner is working, there is no limit to what I might pull out of the past!

 

3 Responses to “Growing Up (As Seen Through Pictures)”

  1. Jen Says:

    I DEEPLY appreciate you sparing me the humiliation of posting pictures of me during these years. Thanks, sissy!

  2. meema Says:

    What wonderful memories, Ro! These pics capture a lot of growth, a lot of learning, and a lot of love for friends and family. If you ever need some more to spur your recollections of childhood or teenage years, you know we have a whole plastic bin full of pics. Maybe putting them in some sort of order is another “retirement” project, right?
    Love, meema

    ps…I’d still like to know more about the evening up at Mount Hood.


Leave a Reply

