Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Recipe Update February 23, 2011

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 12:52 pm

I feel bad for not posting more about the new recipes I’ve been trying…  Oh wait!  Maybe because I haven’t tried anything new!  Ugh – I get one recipe in (actually two, but the second is still an unfinished post because it was so underwhelming), and it is seemingly over.   Ok, so I’m not quitting yet, but life is super hectic right now and adding in a new recipe each week has been just one more level of stress I don’t need.

Between weekend family travel and celebrations as well as Jeremy traveling mid-week a few times and my exhausting work tasks, I just don’t have the energy to pour into new recipes.  I’ve been going with the tried and true – the ones I know will result in a delicious meal that most, if not all, of my family will eat.  We still have Tex Mex Tuesdays (which may have to become Mexican Mondays because Jeremy often travels on Tuesdays and misses this fave.)  We usually do another chicken and rice dish some other weeknight.  Then probably spaghetti or chicken finger salads or something.  We have mostly been eating out for dinner on weekends, which needs to end for budgetary reasons.  So you can see that it is just not happening.  I think my list of recipes to try is now at the bottom of a pile on our dining room hutch.

But honestly, we’re facing a lot of potential change right now, and so we’re really just hoping to get through the next month.  And by April, we’re hoping to have a new lease on life that will probably take some getting used to, but will be good in the grand scheme of things.  I don’t want to go into more detail yet, but let’s just say that Jeremy and I are really hopeful, but cautious about getting too excited about it all.

In the meantime, I’m thinking I will post recipes of some of our favorite things to eat.   Maybe that will breathe new life into these “standards.”  And maybe, just maybe, it will inspire me to branch out more.

 

One Response to “Recipe Update”

  1. Alaina Says:

    I have a good Tex Mex recipe if you would like me to share….


Leave a Reply

