Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

I’ve Got A Bad Feeling About This February 21, 2011

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 10:06 am

I should really put that title in quotes…  “I’ve got a bad feeling about this.”  Can anyone name that movie?  Or movies, really.  Can you name the character who says it?  My kids can.  And it’s all because their daddy is a true Star Wars fan.  And not the Clone Wars.  I’m talking true, old school Star Wars.  Han Solo, Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia, Chewbacca!  And because Jeremy loves it and can encourage the education of it, my kids love it too.  Quality time with daddy has turned into watching him play Star Wars Lego on Wii.  No, they are not playing it with him – they just like to watch him play.  You can only imagine how awesome Jeremy thinks this is.  “Oh, Robin, I’ll hang out with the kids while you make dinner.”  … playing Star Wars Lego…  “Why don’t you go for a run?  The kids and I will be fine.”  …playing Star Wars Lego…

It started back in 2009.  Mason had two loves – High School Musical and Star Wars.  Then  Cooper started learning of THE FORCE, and it was all over.  He has latched on to Star Wars like Luke latches on to the force to help him destroy the Death Star.  The funny thing is that both kids had never seen any of the movies until just a few weeks ago.  Yet they knew so much about it.

Having so many Star Wars books definitely helps in the education.  And yes, there are two of the Star Wars Fandex in the photo above.  Jen and Scott got us one as a gift not knowing we already had one.  But honestly, it’s been wonderful having two because Mason and Cooper would fight over the one.  (And looking at that picture, I realize there have to be more Star Wars books in this house, but I couldn’t find them all.)  In addition to the books, our house has been infiltrated by Star Wars sandwich cutters, a lunchbox, underwear, clothes, cookie cutters, dishes, and even pancake molds.  Jeremy already had a collection of old movie posters, and our best one was hanging in Cooper’s room before he moved in with Mason.  It’s now hanging proudly in the exercise/multipurpose room.  These are the kind of things that get top billing in our house.

For Jeremy’s birthday, I got him a model Millenium Falcon so that he could have more Star Wars fun with the kids.  It is definitely the spaceship of choice in the Lake household.  Sadly, Jeremy rarely gets to play with it because the kids always have it.  (side note: Mason could never pronounce it and always said “minellium falcon” until just recently.  It was a big day when she finally got it right!)

And now the latest…  Playing Star Wars Lego on the Wii wasn’t good enough for Jeremy.  He had to have the real Legos.  So over the weekend, we all agreed that the Lego X-Wing Fighter “with 6 hard-to-find characters” had to come home with us.  As I write this, Jeremy and the kids are downstairs building this X-Wing.  I can hear Cooper playing with the Lego versions of Han Solo and Chewbacca while Mason plays with Princess Leia and helps Jeremy sort all the little pieces.

I LOVE that they are bonding over Star Wars.  I LOVE that my kids have such an extensive knowledge about all things Star Wars.  I don’t love answering questions from every single page of a Clone Wars book because I have no clue about anything Clone Wars, but it’s hard to find old school stuff these days.  I don’t love when Mason and Cooper fight over the Star Wars toys.  I don’t love when Cooper wants to use my spatula as a light saber.  I LOVE watching this all unfold.  I am a little wary of Cooper’s future, though.  He is getting very serious about the Legos.  He even noticed when Luke and Wedge were wearing the wrong helmets.  (These are 4-inch high pieces, yet he still notices the difference!)  I can just see our future of Jeremy and Cooper downstairs building intricate Lego spaceships, while Mason and I bake cookies and watch High School Musical.  I think Cooper is hooked for life.  And to quote Han Solo, “I’ve got a bad feeling about this.”

 

2 Responses to “I’ve Got A Bad Feeling About This”

  1. Alaina Says:

    Having never seen any of the Star Wars movies myself, I can’t say that I feel for you, but I will anyway 🙂

  2. Jan Jewett Says:

    In one of my first design jobs – I worked on packaging an games for Star Wars.
    Wish I had samples to give to you and Jeremy!


Leave a Reply

