Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Girls Will Be Girls February 19, 2011

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 7:18 pm

I love hearing the squeals of little girls having a good time.  I don’t think I would want to hear it all the time because, let’s face it, squealing girls can give you a headache after prolonged periods.  But every once in awhile, I relish in it.

After we picked up Mason’s friend, Luka, the other day, there was constant giggling in the backseat.  I couldn’t help but smile because it is so important for Mason to play with other girls.  I know she has some girlfriends in her class, but the majority of her time is spent playing with her little brother.  And while he does enjoy a little My Little Pony, Barbies, or watching High School Musical, he’s still a boy and would rather shoot pretend blasters or have light saber fights.

I’m learning that it is important for Mason (and Cooper, for that matter) to have playdates with kids her own age.  Playing with her brother is great, and they do enjoy their time together mostly, but it’s good to have friends outside of family – friends at her own level.  I want to make a concerted effort to get both Mason and Cooper playing with other kids on the weekends when at all possible.  For Mason, I am hoping it builds her confidence and opens up new opportunities for her.  She’s currently not interested in taking classes or joining a sport unless it includes me or Cooper, and that’s just not possible at her age.  Classes or sports for her age are all drop-off, and so I’m hoping that by being around other girls, she’ll realize they are taking classes or playing a sport, and maybe she’ll become interested in it as well.  Because at this age, it is usually about what your friends are doing.  I want her to at least try things – then she can determine what she loves and wants to pursue at an older age.   I just want her to be active and not miss out on anything that she might end up loving.

Until that happens, I’ll enjoy her girl time on these playdates and happily listen to the squealing because girls will be girls.  And girls just want to have fun!

 

Leave a Reply

