Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Old at 33 February 17, 2011

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 1:17 pm

It all started when Mason, with her youthful naiveté, said to me, “Mommy, you have a big butt.”  Lovely.  Then a few days later she said, “Why do you have all those bumps on your face?”  (bumps = wrinkles)  Really?  Then while hanging out with my sister and mom, my own mother stares at my head and says, “Ooh…  You’ve got a lot of white hairs, don’t you?”

Ok, I get it!  I’m catching what you’re throwin’ down!  I’m looking old at the ripe-ol’ age of 33.  Yikes!

I understand the butt comment – my fanny is larger than Mason’s seeing as I am 28 years older, 2 feet taller, and 100 pounds bigger than her.  When looking at me in our house with no other woman to compare it too, my fanny probably does look big.  I’m ok with that.    I’m healthy, exercise regularly, and feel confident in who I am (most of the time.)

The wrinkle bump comment is ok too.  (The verdict is still out on whether wrinkle or bump sounds less harsh.)  I have been through a lot in my 33 years.  Moving a couple of times, father dying at a young age, college stress, relationship stress, giving birth to two amazing kids, then raising these two amazing (most of the time) kids…  These are the kind of things that give you wrinkles.  I can’t change that, nor would I.  I am who I am because of the life I have lived.

It’s the white hairs that are the most upsetting.  And not that my mom pointed them out – just the fact that they exist.  My dad grayed at an early age.  He had salt and pepper hair well before he turned 40.  I guess I got this from him.  Thanks, Dad!  When the first white/gray hairs started to pop up, I plucked them out as fast as I could.  I know “they” say that pulling them out will only cause 3 more to grow in its place.  That may be true, but I think my white hairs are coming in at a faster rate than that math would predict, so there is more to it.  And the trouble is that I’m stressing about the white hairs popping up that I’m sure this stress is causing more to grow in.  It’s a double-edged sword!

I’ve debated getting highlights to hide the white hairs.  I’m not in a position to pay that kind of money every 5-6 months, though.  I’ve tried pulling them out, but that’s not the answer either.  I don’t think I would mind if I “grayed” at an early age.  There is something sophisticated about it.  I think the kicker is just the process to get there.  How long will it take until they fully take over my head?  What kind of stress will I go through during this process?  Those are the kinds of questions I ask myself every morning and every night when I look in the mirror.  I’m feeling old, and I’m only 33!  Maybe I need to go buy a young-looking short skirt and some hot top so I can feel young again.  Oh wait…  I can’t do that…  I have a big butt!

 

2 Responses to “Old at 33”

  1. Alaina Says:

    You’re not old! I do feel you on the white hairs thing…coloring your hair can be super expensive. And I say stressing out about it will only make more hairs grow…Deep breaths, deep breaths..

  2. meema Says:

    Hey, Ro…I’m sorry I even mentioned the hair thing. I can tell you age is not in your appearance but in your mind and spirit. And I know that looking in the mirror this may be little consolation. But believe me….it really is… age is in your mind and spirit, and don’t let anyone tell you anything different! Hair coloring…okay…it hides the tell-tale evidence of years, so they say. But some hairs “lighten” much earlier than others. So ‘”hairs” some advice…. save your money….keep that youthful smile and outlook…and before you know it …others will be wishing they had your courage and grace (inside and out) to let your inner beauty shine forth!
    Love, meema


Leave a Reply

