Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Finding New Recipes January 21, 2011

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 1:30 pm

I wanted to title this post “Finding new food in every day” but I don’t think I’ll be able to keep up the pace.

Here’s the plan:  Go through all of my cookbooks to find new and exciting recipes for the family to try.

Here’s the rub:  I am picky.  My daughter is picky.  I am a bit stubborn in trying new things or new ways of doing things.  BUT…  (and that’s a big but!), I am willing to give it a go.

Here is the reason:  Jeremy and I are getting a bit bored with our everyday meals.  I usually do a crock pot meal on Sundays, and we eat leftovers for lunch the next few days.  We have Tex Mex Tuesdays, which usually involves tacos or fajitas – basically anything involving tortillas.  The rest of the week’s meals are a myriad of my normal recipes, which include but are not limited to spaghetti, chili, grilled chicken and rice, chicken stir fry, chicken cheese steaks, pork loin, chicken noodle soup, turkey sandwiches…  Doesn’t it all sound so ho-hum?  So typical?  We need to break out of our food rut!  We need to eat more vegetables!  We need to get our kids to try new things!

So this weekend I will be going through my many cookbooks and my many torn out pages from magazines or printed recipes from my favorite blogs and coming up with a plan.  I already meal plan for each week, but I need to have a bigger overall plan (that’s not too strict) of how we will incorporate these new recipes while still keeping some of our favorite flavors and foods in the mix.  It is daunting, but it is also exciting.

Now if only Jeremy would agree that this plan requires some new cooking tools like a Le Creuset dutch oven!

 

2 Responses to “Finding New Recipes”

  1. Alaina Says:

    We have the same problem where we eat the same things over and over again. I’d be happy to exchange recipes! Maybe that would be a way to get out of our ruts! That’d actually be kind of fun, too, since I’m always looking for new crockpot recipes, etc.

    • Robin Says:

      Love the idea of sharing recipes! I’ve already pulled out about 20 that I want to try this weekend! I’ll have to pace myself, though. After I’ve tested them, I’ll send the great ones your way.


Leave a Reply

