Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

I’m Learning Why… January 13, 2011

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 10:42 am

I’m learning why I did not become a teacher like everyone else in my family.  Despite my English degree and a Masters in Gifted Education, I never fully went the teaching route.  As Mason gets older and requires help with her reading and writing skills, I realize that I was never cut out to be a teacher.  I have no patience for it!  Kudos to all you teachers out there that can patiently sit next to a student trying to read a word that is so obvious to you and seems so easy, yet the student keeps rattling off other words that don’t even come close to what’s in front of them!  Oh my, it is so not my cup of tea.  (I don’t even drink tea, so that may not be effective enough…  It is so not my cookie!)

Mason and I have been working on rhyming words as a way to get her reading skills going.  We have some great flashcards my mom (a teacher) got her, and we’ve been doing a few each day over breakfast, snack, sometimes dinner.  She sees the main word on the front of the card and has to sound it out.  We hide the picture so she has to try to read.  (The girl has amazing reading comprehension, but the pictures often mess with her actual reading of words.)  Once we know the main word, we come up with rhyming words.  The back of the flashcard has a list of the rhymes, and I’ve been trying to get Mason to ‘read’ them as well.  Today’s word was “spot.”  When looking at “cot,” she said “cat.”  I told her it has to rhyme with “spot.”  So she sounded it out, but instead put a long “o” in it, so it sounded more like “coat.”  I kept reminding her that we’re doing rhyming words, but she still didn’t get it.  It took all my patience that had rebooted in me from a good night’s sleep not to go crazy in front of her.

I’m not sure how I’m going to do over the next several years as her learning kicks up a notch with homework and tests and such.  Even with my education degree, I never learned how to actually teach someone a specific thing.  I learned more general teaching ideas like differentiation and experience learning.  This is all new to me, and I’m not doing great so far.  I’m learning why it’s a good thing I sit at a desk in front of a computer all day instead of having other parents trust me with educating the “future” of our country!

 

3 Responses to “I’m Learning Why…”

  1. Jen Says:

    Don’t worry, dear sissy. Teaching someone to read and understand the English language is just about one of the hardest tasks imaginable. What comes so easily to us after years of experience is still hidden and confusing to youngsters. Here’s the good news: if she doesn’t get it today, she eventually will…it just takes a while to figure this stuff out. Just stick with it — and don’t stress. You have a wealth of knowledge and many things you can teach all of us!

  2. Alaina Says:

    This is why I’m not a teacher, too…my brother and sister are both teachers, and I don’t have the patience or skill for it. It’s amazing profession but definitely not one for me!

  3. meema Says:

    Hey dear daughter, I learned early on that even parents who are certified teachers aren’t always the best teachers of academic content for their own children. Remember all the times I tried to help you and Jen with writing assignments? What parents can “teach” their children is a love of learning and a love of reading, a strong work ethic, perseverance and so many other important values–which you are doing every day just through modeling. Leave the academic stuff to schools, unless your children ask you for help and really want it. Plus, I can tell you that teaching reading or “language” is probably one of the most difficult tasks around. There are so many different theories/approaches/strategies. Most kindergarten and first grade teachers will tell you…it’s just kind of magic when it all clicks together and a child takes off with a text. In short, not to worry. Stick to the basics–the big stuff! Love, meema


Leave a Reply

