Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Giving Thanks November 25, 2010

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 6:22 am

I woke up this morning at 5am hearing the rain outside, and I gave my first thanks of Thanksgiving for not having to fit in to our busy morning getting our huge pile of leaves from the backyard to the driveway in preparation for tomorrow’s pick up.  Of course, this means we’ll have to bag this huge pile of leaves, but this morning that doesn’t sound so bad.  Ask me again on Sunday when we have filled 20 bags of leaves!

Or we could just leave it awhile. I'm sure Cooper wouldn't mind.

Once I was up, I couldn’t get back to sleep as I fretted over everything we need to get done and whether I was going to bake tomorrow’s breakfast this morning or not and even what that breakfast was going to be – scones or cobble cake?  Oh, the decisions.  Once I got over all that, I started to think about what I am truly thankful for today (and all days).

I am thankful for my family – those near and far.  I have such a wonderful support system and a lot of people who love me and Jeremy and the kids.  I feel so blessed to be able to create wonderful memories with everyone and having my kids have the chance to get to know great uncles and aunts, first and second cousins, grandparents and great-grandparents.

Obviously this is only a small portion of our large family, but I am thankful for even getting this shot!

I am thankful for my house.  Even though it is riddled with water issues right now and there are some cosmetic things I want to get done, like, yesterday, I still love coming home every day.  I have had some issues with mentally getting over the fact that we have been in our “starter house” for 7 years with no sight of moving for another few years.  But I’m finally starting to believe Jeremy when he says that our “starter house” was already a step up.  We stretched to get it before, and we’ve made it even better since.  We’re very lucky.

A backyard shot of the house because right now our backyard has never looked better. I can't wait for spring to start using it again.

I am thankful for Jeremy – my partner in everything.  He reminds me every single day why I fell in love with him 10 years ago and why I can’t imagine living without him.

I am thankful for my kids.  No matter how stressful daily life gets (and often because of them), they bring me so much more joy than I ever could have imagined.  The memories I have of them that are not even captured on camera will live in my heart forever.  They can’t be described…  they are just pure joy – that’s the best way to describe it.

I am thankful for my friends.  Old friends, new friends…  The friends who have been there to listen to me, laugh with me, cry with me, trust in me, help me, and accept me for me.  Those kind of friends are hard to find, and I am grateful for having found them and getting to share my life with them.

I am thankful for the feast we will have today at Nana and Papa’s.  I am thankful for the second feast we will get to have with Meema on Saturday.  (Although I’m sad to miss my sister’s feast today mostly because I miss her…  and Hayes… and Scott.)  I am thankful that we get to put up our Christmas decorations tomorrow.  Boy do I love Christmas time!

There is so much more I could write about being thankful for – trivial things, silly things, grand things – but the kids just woke up, so I’m going to spend time with them while they are cuddly and cute.  (Before the whining starts.)  I need that pure joy to start my day off on the right foot.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

