Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

1 second November 1, 2010

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 12:27 pm

Time in the eyes of little kids is cute.  We don’t do them any favors by saying “I’ll help you in a second.”  Or “Let me just finish washing these dishes.  I’ll be there in a minute.”  Washing dishes does not take a minute or a second.  More like 10 minutes.

So it is no surprise that Cooper is now asking to do things for “just one second” thinking he will get a lot longer than a true second.

“Mommy, can I play football outside just one second?”

“Mommy, we play hockey downstairs just one second?”

“I want to eat breakfast in just one second.”  (Ok, maybe that one is accurate since he is hungry the second he wakes up!)

If I truly listened to him and gave him one second of what he was asking for, we wouldn’t even have time to throw one football or do one hockey face-off.

Lesson learned:  I need to use realistic time frames when explaining things to my children.

Hopefully I haven’t scarred them for life.

 

2 Responses to “1 second”

  1. Alaina Says:

    That is a tough one…kids take us so literally, and if you say “just a second” and it does take 30 minutes, I can see what they mean. “Just a minute” is another one I’m guilty of using or hold on a second…

    Oh children, they do keep us mindful of what we’re saying, don’t they? 🙂

  2. meema Says:

    Just wait until he goes to “big boy school” and has to figure out elapsed time! I’m already thinking of how to convey “time” — real time to my grandchildren. Not just in seconds or minutes but years. I remember thinking my mom was really, really old at 50! And yet I am elated to be 62 and still able to enjoy my grandchildren…all three at one time! We had fun and, yes, I did enjoy my 50 minutes of walking and solitude later in the afternoon. Still, I’m ready for the next “adventure.”
    Love, meema


Leave a Reply

