Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Attitude Adjustment October 5, 2010

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 10:45 am

When I got ornery as a little kid, preteen or teenager, my dad always said the same thing.  “You need an attitude adjustment.”  Well, last week, as a mom, a wife, and an employee, that is exactly what I needed.  Since I didn’t have my dad to tell me that, I had to do it on my  own.

After a week of my bad attitude, I could tell it was affecting everyone.  I’ve had these weeks before.  The kind of weeks where it seems like everyone or everything is against you.  The littlest mishap can seem like a huge slap in the face.  By Wednesday, I had fought with Mason countless times.  I had been sad enough for Jeremy to have to ask on a couple of occasions what he could do to make me happy again.  And I had given up on disciplining Cooper out of sheer exhaustion, and he truly needed some boundaries set again.  Just one of those weeks.

Jeremy left for a guys weekend on  Thursday, and I was dreading the weekend ahead with the kids.  I decided to cancel our trip to Raleigh, which I was really sad about, but knew was best for my sanity.  (I knew I could not manage a 6 hour drive with 2 kids late at night to then turn around 36 hours later and do it again back home.)  So what was I to do with 2 kids for an entire weekend?  First things first – I needed an attitude adjustment!

I woke up Friday morning and told myself to put a smile on my face.  Step one!  A smile is contagious.  Maybe if I had a smile on my face and a pep in my voice, the kids would too.  It worked.  The three of us had a great time at breakfast, and I dropped them off at school without any big struggles.  So far so good.

Mason had a half day on Friday, so I took her shopping.  We had a great time together – just us girls.  We got her a party dress for her birthday party this weekend and did some shoe shopping for me.  Such fun.  That evening was pizza and movie night.  We finished watching Mighty Ducks 3, which the kids loved.  We were even cheering them on at the end – “Quack!  Quack!  Quack!”

We woke  up Saturday  morning with no plans.  It is very rare for this to happen, so I was in heaven.  I made some chocolate chip muffins and cleaned a bit.  Again, smiles were still coming.  My attitude adjustment had fully taken effect, and I was loving this special time with the kids.  The day included a haircut for Cooper, toy store visit, neighborhood picnic, and a birthday party (that I had totally forgotten about since I thought we would be out of town – luckily I ran into the mom at the picnic, and she said it was cool if we still came.)

I went to sleep on Saturday night with a smile on my face.  It is not often that I get to just take the day as it comes with no plans.  It’s quite refreshing!  And I know that if I had not had the attitude adjustment, the day would have gone much differently.  I won’t go into detail, but imagine a day with few smiles and absolutely no patience.

Sunday was a new day, and we got to meet up with Meema, Jen and Hayes for a farm tour in Virginia.  The pictures below showcase the experience.  What a treat!

We started off at a pig and turkey farm. This pig was HUGE!

Meema got a day full of grandkids and loved it!

The piglets were adorable. The smell - not so much.

Pumpkin Patch was next. Mason got to cut her own pumpkin off the vine.

Of course, Cooper had to have a turn too. He chose a white pumpkin.

Hayes was hardcore! He loved his tattoo - can't you tell?

A wagon ride was the perfect way to end the adventure.

After our day of farms and excitement, we headed back to DC to pick Jeremy up at the airport.  I could not wipe the smiles off their faces, and I knew the weekend had been a success.  All thanks to my attitude adjustment.  Thanks, Dad.

 

2 Responses to “Attitude Adjustment”

  1. Alaina Says:

    Aw, that’s sweet! Trust me, I know what you mean when you say you needed one of those…I have had those weeks too. I’m just impressed you were able to turn it around so quickly. That’s great!

  2. meema Says:

    OMG, I realize how many of your blogs I have missed in the last few weeks! And each one, I have enjoyed reading now and feeling like somehow I’ve missed the last few weeks even though I’ve been with you. Just shows how quickly time gets by us…like the 18 years that have gone by. I treasure how you capture the daily events…the images of those special moments and conversations. And I especially enjoy the memories, the lessons of life learned, now as you look back. Like AA Attitude Adjustments. How true. Thanks to Dad…that’s a special lesson.
    Love, meema

    ps…If you ever need a more “mature” representative for the CFC, please feel free to call. You know where that gene comes from!


Leave a Reply

