Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Chic Flick Club (CFC) September 29, 2010

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 4:35 pm

When I was in middle school, my friends and I started a club.  We called it BONS.  It was “snob” backwards, and yes, we were horrible snobs.  We would only let certain people in, and to get in, you had to have pink Reeboks.  If you didn’t have them or even had the knock-offs, you were not allowed to join BONS.  The things girls do to each other.  I can’t believe I was ever that exclusive and selective and snobby and, well…  bitchy.  It was no wonder a neighbor of mine that I did not get along with coined the term “Snobbin’ Robin” and would sing it to me all the way home from the bus stop.

I’m often embarrassed to remember how I was back then.  I’m often nervous of what Mason is going to go through.  Will she be the snobby, exclusive one or will she be the shunned one?  Can you be both?  You would think I have years before I really have to worry about this since she is only 5, but it’s naive to think that girly issues aren’t already rearing their ugly heads – even in preschool.

But I digress…  That is not the point of this post.  I got off track with the club thing, then the snobby thing, then the girly issues thing, but I’m back!  Where was I?  Oh yeah!

The club I want to start today is much different than the BONS club of middle school.  It’s a movie club.  More specifically, a chic flick club.  CFC for short.

I love chic flicks!  LOVE THEM!  I’m sure I’ve mentioned here before that I am a sap and often always cry during chic flicks, no matter how lame they are.  They just make me feel good.  I leave with a smile.  I leave with a full heart.  Another thing that has me leaving with a full heart and a smile is hanging out with my girlfriends.  I don’t get much “me” time, so when I do, I love to combine the two – hanging out with girlfriends and watching a chic flick.  Can’t get much better than that!

That is what started this idea of the CFC.  I’m not a book club person.  As an English major in college, I’ve had enough of reading books and then discussing them in depth ad nauseam.  And while I know that many book clubs are just an excuse to get together with your girlfriends, I would never have the time to even pretend to read the assigned book to then pretend to feign interest in discussing it.  Just not my thing.   What is my thing is watching movies.  It takes no advance work, no pressuring timeline.  It’s a time where I can let go and immerse myself into the story, no matter how cheesy it is.

To get CFC started, I want a bunch of girlfriends to express interest and commitment to keep it going.  The idea is to meet before (or after depending on timing) for drinks and dessert and then go to the movies together.  No requirement to discuss the movie afterward except for the common “That was cute” or “Wasn’t he so hot in this movie?”  Then we go on our way, back to our busy lives, desperately looking forward to the next month when we get to do it all over again.

I know that I’m already desperately looking forward to the first meeting of the CFC.  Perhaps “Life As We Know It” will be the first “assignment.”  Or “Secretariat.”  (I know I cry just for the preview of that one.)  I’m already smiling just thinking of the possibilities of this.  CFC 4 EVER!

 

2 Responses to “Chic Flick Club (CFC)”

  1. Alaina Says:

    Man, I wish you lived closer to me because I’d totally do it! I love chick flicks…I’m not at all a serious movie person. Give me a Jennifer Lopez or Sandra Bullock romantic comedy any day.

    You know, though, when I read this title first my response was “first rule of chick flick club…you NEVER talk about chick flick club!” (You know, from Fight Club? I know, I”m weird…)

    • Robin Says:

      Nice reference to Fight Club! Yeah, I don’t like to think much when I go to the movies. Although I did just see Avatar and loved it, which surprised me.


Leave a Reply

