Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

I Love Fall! September 13, 2010

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 12:34 pm

Fall is my favorite time of the year.  I love the onset of colors, the beginning of football, the crispness in the air, and the smell of comfort food.  (The crockpot becomes my best friend in the fall!)  While it is not “officially” fall yet, I still consider the beginning of the school year and football to be the beginning of fall.  And we had the perfect early fall weather this past weekend to truly enjoy it.

We started it off with a trip to our local farmer’s market.  I got inspiration for my weekly menu from all the fresh veggies and delicious honey crisp apples.  And, of course, I could not leave without a bouquet of fresh flowers.

Then it was time for the big college football matchup of the Ohio State Buckeyes and the Miami Hurricanes.  We got to watch the game with a friend (and Buckeye fan) and our respective families.  To mark the occasion, I made some dueling cake pops.

Can you tell who Jeremy is rooting for?

On Sunday, we went out to Meema’s for a yummy crockpot-created lunch and to pick apples at her friend’s orchard.  In the past, I have always waited too long to do our apple-picking excursion and then we have a hard time finding the good apple varieties left on the trees.  But this year, I was going to be ahead of the game!  There were several trees of golden delicious apples saved for us to pick from, so we had our “pick” (pardon the pun!) of lots of great apples.

The apple of my eye...

Good thing I have two eyes.

In the end, after sharing some with Meema, we came home with about 28 apples.  For a family of four, that would keep the doctor away for 7 days.  Not bad, but I need to make some comfort food out of these apples.  I’ve never done my own apple pie, so I may attempt that this week.  And if all else fails, I’ll just go back to my good old standby apple crisp.  Oh, I’m hungry just thinking about it.

After our apple-picking adventure, we trekked home to watch some more football.  (Side note: Jeremy is participating in a fantasy football league for the first time, so every game has meaning now, which means lots more football is watched at our house!)

It was a great fall weekend in my opinion!  These are the kind of weekends I wish we could just put on “repeat” to enjoy over and over.  Sadly fall is usually our busiest season.  Everyone comes out of their air conditioned cocoon and wants to hang out before it gets cold and we retreat back to our heated cocoons.  Not that I don’t love getting to socialize all season!  I just wish we had more time to make more of these great family memories.

 

I love fall!

Next adventure: Hershey Park with friends and the Renaissance Fair with Nana, Papa, and Kristin.  Better get some rest while we can!

 

3 Responses to “I Love Fall!”

  1. Alaina Says:

    Oh how I love fall! College football, the best weather, the best fruits and food…I love LOVE fall! Can’t say I’m an OSU fan, though…I did graduate from IU, you know… 🙂

    • Robin Says:

      Oh no! We’re NOT OSU fans – quite the opposite! We’re University of Miami (and Virginia) fans. We wear a lot of orange!

      • meema Says:

        Some of us could be OSU fans since my dad was a Buckeye and almost graduated from OSU in Journalism but was called to UK by his fraternity Delta Chi to straighten things up down there. Oh Well…did he finish at UK..well not quite, the Navy was calling and he wanted to fly so off he went to the Naval Air Corp and Corpus Christi. Still our Ohio family are all dedicated Buckeye fans…as well as Reds fans!

        A little further south, however, we run into ACC territory and the familial lines become much more distinct amongst alliances for UVa, UNC, NC State, Miami, Florida State, and Maryland. It all adds up to a wonderfully exciting ACC football season in the fall! Boy could we have fun with a family Fantasy College Football league!

        Loved this weekend, Ro! Thanks for making the journey out to WV–Almost Heaven. I did make my first apple pie of the season Sunday afternoon. Jerry’s Goldens finished strong. Go light on the cinnamon…maybe 1/2 tsp.–sprinkle on top and mix, add to taste. Also I had to use a whole lemon to keep the slices from turning brown, plus I added the “magic ingredient” in the recipe…pretty good if I say so myself. I took the remainder in to school today and the pie plate was bare by lunch, with the help of some lite Coowhip!

        Hope we can Skype this week sometime. Just need to see your smiling faces. Love you all, meema


Leave a Reply

