Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

More Preschool August 27, 2010

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 9:58 am

I dropped Mason off at her last day of summer camp this morning and headed over to her preschool orientation by myself.  While I would have loved for Mason to see her teachers again before Monday’s first day, I didn’t want to take her away from her last field trip at camp.  Besides, she knows who the teachers are and where her class is at the school, and she is super excited for Monday!

As I walked into the elementary school, though, I couldn’t help but feel a tinge of jealousy towards all the parents bringing their kindergartners in to meet their new teachers for the first time.  The school was crawling with parents and kids.  Some kids looked nervous as they walked into new surroundings, new people, new activities.  Some looked excited as they greeted old friends with smiles or hugs.  I could see the pride and anxiety in the parents of kindergartners, some who may be leaving their child for a full day for the first time on Monday.

Kindergarten is a big deal.  It’s the realization that your child is officially entering the 13-year school program.  It’s the understanding that they will now have homework and field trips and friends you don’t know.  They will be in school more hours than you actually get to see them.  They will be being molded by teachers and other children.  It’s a big step.

So while I am a bit jealous, I know we made the right decision to keep Mason in preschool for another year.  She’s going to grow up and learn so much this year, and by next fall, she’ll be so ready to start kindergarten and embark on the 13-year journey.  And while I’m sure I’ll be one of those anxious parents, I’ll also be a proud parent, eager for my girl to make her mark.

(It will be quite a different story in 3 years when I take Cooper to his orientation, though.  Oh man – my baby going to kindergarten?  Don’t even get me started!  Thankfully I have three years to prepare myself.)

 

One Response to “More Preschool”

  1. Alaina Says:

    Aw, I’m sure that this year will bring her a great deal of growth and learning and get her ready for the rest of her 13 years in the school system. Best of luck to you guys!


Leave a Reply

