Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

How Did We Get Here? August 11, 2010

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 9:49 am

I remember, just a few months ago, reading articles and other blogs about the silly bandz craze.  I remember thinking how “silly” they were.  Why are kids going ga-ga over these things?  I remember when Mason came home with her first silly band that a friend at school had given her and me thinking, “oh no.”  I remember seeing emails going back and forth about where one could get silly bandz because they were being bought like crazy and selling out within hours of new shipments coming in. I remember thinking that I would never buy silly bandz.

Then I remember being at a store at Union Station and seeing lots of silly bandz and wondering if I should get a pack – just for fun.  People were buying them up like hot cakes, so surely there is something to them, and here they were right in front of me.  I remember keeping myself in check.  I would never buy silly bandz.

If I remember all this so clearly, how in the world did we get here?

It’s all coming back to me.  I remember taking Mason on a bunch of errands and being at Strosniders after a slew of other places.  Mason had been a trooper.  We saw a pack of princess silly bandz.  I remember her asking (not begging) if we could get some.  I remember thinking she deserved a special treat, so why not?  I told her at that time, “This is the only pack of silly bandz I am ever buying you.”

And yet, here we are.

62 silly bandz!

I bought one pack of silly bandz that fateful day in June.  When I told Jeremy, he gave me a look that said, “Here we go.”  I have since bought two other packs (one for Mason and one for Cooper – he needs to be in on the craze too!).  They have since received several other packs as gifts from family and friends.  They have traded and shared with other kids.  They have been strewn around the house.  They have been sucked up by the vacuum.  They have broken.  They have been threatened to be taken away due to behavior problems.  They have been coveted.

And that is the story of how we got here – 62 silly bandz at last count!

 

2 Responses to “How Did We Get Here?”

  1. Rachel Says:

    at least they are safer than the slap bracelet craze of our youth. 🙂

  2. Alaina Says:

    I never understand these fads…my nieces and nephews are crazy over these things…partly, I’m just jealous because I didn’t think of them first. Whoever came up with this idea is one rich person!


Leave a Reply

