Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Boingo July 6, 2010

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 3:37 pm

Boingo on your head.  Boingo house.  Boingo booty.  Boingo at the playground…  You name it…  Boingo!  Are you curious what it means?  Just ask Cooper. 

This is Cooper’s favorite word right now.  Everything is Boingo.  No clue what it means, but it just encapsulates who Cooper is these days. 

As I’ve mentioned before, Cooper is a sports guy.  Any sport with a ball is good with him.  Our sports equipment now includes lacrosse sticks, a golf club, tennis rackets, baseball bat, baseball mitt, hockey sticks, a basketball, a volleyball, soccer balls, and footballs.  (Oh, and yes – a boingo ball!)  It is his life.  We did a sports class this past spring and had a great time learning all different kinds of sports.  Cooper loved getting to play, and we loved watching him burn off energy.  You can’t keep your eyes off of him – not only because he is so stinkin’ cute, but also because you just never know what he will do next.

He has already been dubbed the “class clown” by his teacher.  I can definitely tell he loves being the center of attention.   And boy can this kid talk!  He will talk your ear off – just commenting on everything around him, telling stories (“Pretend, Mommy!”), and asking questions.  This is one of Cooper’s stories, “One day, a little boy played hockey.  He went home.  He got boingo on his head.” 

Cooper will try anything.  He doesn’t mind getting dirty or getting a little bump.  I think he spends more time on the ground than he does on his feet.  He will eat anything Jeremy has on his plate, which is just one of the reasons he is just like his Daddy – or at least wants to be just like him.  I can already tell how much he idolizes his daddy and sweetly loves me, his mommy.  With the love he gives and the laughter he creates, it is almost impossible to say no to him.

But just like any two-year-old, Cooper has his moments.  He gets in his moods.  He can be daring and bold one minute and scared and clingy the next.  He can be giggling and showing off one minute and tantrums the next.  It’s the life of a two-year-old!  We’ve definitely been more lenient with Cooper than we were with Mason.  I admit it.  It’s a hard balance with him.  We have Mason as the example, so we expect so much of him, yet we know he’s not old enough to meet our expectations, so we’re easy on him.  I hope we are, at the very least, teaching him the core values such as being kind, sharing, and cleaning up after yourself.  (Core values for a 2-year-old, that is!)

The hardest thing about Cooper is that he is my baby.  He will always be my baby.  So when I see him grow up right in front of me, I have a hard time letting go.  With an older daughter, I feel I am encouraging her to grow up quickly.  But with a younger son, I feel I am doing what I can to keep him my little baby.  But he is ready to go, and I have to let him.  I have to encourage him to keep learning, keep trying, and keep laughing.  Straight out of Cooper’s mouth, “I no baby, Mommy!  I big boy.  I Cooper.”  Yes, buddy.  You are.  You are Boingo Cooper!

 

Leave a Reply

