Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Where Have You Been All My Life? April 12, 2010

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 2:20 pm

How have I gone my whole baking life without a cake turntable?  Seriously.  How did that happen? Why did I never think it was an important enough purchase?  Well, thanks to my sister who apparently knows me better than I know myself, I now have one.  And it is my new favorite thing.  (Jeremy gets excited about a camera, and I get excited about a cake turntable.)

I used it for the first time over Easter weekend, and I was rewarded with a beautifully iced cake.  And thanks to my classes at Cake Love over a year ago, I learned the techniques required to make some very simple yet visually pleasing cakes.  Here is my first attempt chronicled by none other than the new family photographer!

What should have been a 14-layer cake turned into a 5 layer cake thanks to me not picking up all the ingredients at the store. 5 will have to do!

Just look at that turntable! One hand to ice and the other to spin. It's poetry in motion!

If only you could have heard me... I was praising that turntable the entire time!

The finished product. Time to dig in!

The cross section... Not to pat myself on the back, but this cake was delicious!

 

2 Responses to “Where Have You Been All My Life?”

  1. Jen Says:

    Happy to see the turntable at work! Wish I had gotten some of that cake, though… 🙂

  2. Alaina Says:

    Just came across your blog and wanted to say hi! That cake looks delicious, and beautiful icing job, too. I never can get mine to look that good…especially with round cakes, it usually sinks or some of the cake chips off with the icing and it looks all bumpy. But reading this post really makes me want some cake 🙂


Leave a Reply

