Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Numbers According to a 4-Year-Old March 18, 2010

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 8:57 am

I had a few coupons laying around this morning, so I tried to teach Mason how to recognize the numbers on them.  Does anyone else have problems explaining things to kids?  Try to explain the concept of cents and dollars…  Oh my.  I consider myself good at math, but teaching anyone else about it, especially a 4-year-old, is not for me.  It just is what it is.  They should come out of the womb just understanding all these complicated concepts.  It would make my life much easier.  Try to explain “annoyed” to a kid.  Another tough one for me.

Ok, so back to the coupons.  We first started with 60/sixty.  That’s an easy one since there is “six” in the word.  She caught on and recognized 40/forty.  But then I put the 20 cent coupon in front of her.  Her guess?

“Two-ty”

Say it out loud – it’s funny!  And very cute.  And based on the previous numbers, that was exactly the right guess.  She knows the word “twenty,” but has not seen the number 20 very often to connect the two.  It was a fun little breakfast lesson that made me laugh early in the morning.  I had to share.

 

Leave a Reply

