Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Fluff March 15, 2010

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 1:50 pm

I have to admit that I have not been super happy with my most recent posts.  Sure, I love sharing pictures with you all, but otherwise the posts are pure fluff.  Just a visual glimpse into our life.  There is nothing in-depth.  I’ve been wondering if the title of my blog itself is hindering me from more serious posts.  Really, the title demands “good” from my everyday life.  One of the reasons I wanted to start a blog was not only to share the good memories that I create with my family, but also to be able to write about being a mother and a wife.  We all know that those roles are not always sunshine and roses.  And my life as a mother and wife is more than just vacations, playdates, games, and pizza nights.  There are serious sides to it as well.  For instance, here are some things on my mind as of late:

1.  Helping my husband find what it is he is missing in his life – whether it be a hobby or a job he is passionate about.

2.  Deciding whether Mason is ready for kindergarten or not – should we test her in early and force her to adapt to life with older kids or keep her on pace to enter kindergarten as one of the oldest kids.

3.  Trying to get over this hump at my job.  I’ve been here for 2 years (in the role I’m currently in), and I’m now realizing that I need to prove myself again.  (This is not by any demands of my bosses; it is a demand from myself.)

4.  How do I encourage a picky eater to eat a variety of foods when I am picky myself?

5.  Scheduling training times for myself and Jeremy so we can run a 10k race together in June.  It’s not easy to find the time to train, make dinner, do laundry, get kids to bed and to school, and still have fun as a family and as a couple.

As you can see, there are a lot of daily struggles.  I want to write about them because this blog is my outlet.  This is my way to get words down.  Yes, I could write it all down in a journal I don’t share with anyone, but saying that I will do that and actually doing it are two totally different things.  And believe it or not, I do have a teaching gene in me.  I may not have gone the traditional Donohoe route and become a teacher, but I do still strive to teach others… whether it be my own kids, my co-workers, or even random readers of this blog.

So consider this a warning.  This blog may get some new content.  I’ll still post pictures and share our good times with all of you.  But I’ll also start examining more serious issues, starting with some of those that I listed above.  If I can write about what my findings are related to my life’s issues, it may help someone else.  Heck, in this digital world, maybe even Mason can read this blog when she becomes a mother and better understand her own mother and the timeless struggles all mothers go through.  My goal is still to find the good in every day.  And I hope that by being able to write freely about some of my issues and forcing myself to research and share, the good will reveal itself.

I can already see my “good” for today.  I feel more open and free because I have now allowed myself to push this blog to a level beyond fluff.

 

Leave a Reply

