Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Prepping for Vacation March 5, 2010

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 4:28 pm

In less than 24 hours, we will be landing in Orlando, FL for a week-long vacation.  I can’t believe the time is finally here.  This has been 2 years in the making…  since we last went to Orlando for vacation (only 6 weeks after Cooper was born since we had to plan the trip before I was even pregnant.)  When we first got back from Orlando 2 years ago, we couldn’t wait to go again.  Jeremy and I had had such a wonderful time, and we truly enjoyed watching Mason take in the magic of Disneyworld.  But even then, we knew we would have to wait the 2 years until the opportunity came up again.  Jeremy’s parents purchased a timeshare in Orlando for every other year.  They have been gracious enough to invite us along.  It is a great family vacation – Nana, Papa, Kristin, and us.  We look forward to doing it in the “off year” with my family.

The girls on Dumbo in 2008.

The big excitement for me on this trip is just to get away for a week.  We rarely go on vacations for an entire week.  Trips for us are over long weekends or for a night here and there – never a full week!  What a treat!  But of course, being away for a whole week has its issues.  The biggest issue for me is actually being away from work for a whole week.  I have had to train my assistant over the past month so that she can take over my duties while I’m gone.  This has not been an easy task.  It’s not that she can’t handle it – I have faith that she can – it’s that what I do is so involved, so conditional, so detailed…  It’s hard to transfer what I have in my brain to her.  I’ve tried – trust me.  I wrote 6 pages of detailed instructions.  (How much do you think she cursed me when I sent that to her?)  I know that the world here at IBW will not end while I am gone for a week.  I know things will get done.  I know my assistant will keep things under control.  I just hope that I can truly keep my blackberry in my bag and not jump to check it every 15 minutes.

Mason and Me - totally relaxed before I entered back into the workforce after maternity leave with Cooper.

If you think Jeremy and I are excited, you can only imagine the level of excitement that Mason has.  Her teacher has been telling me all week that she talks about Disneyworld non-stop at school.  I finally had to tell Mason to keep it to ourselves to not upset other kids who can’t come with us.  (That’s a weird conversation to have with a 4-year-old.)  I honestly don’t blame her.  We’ve been talking this trip up for the past 6 months.  We definitely started the “countdown” too early.  Even though we just started the literal day countdown this week, it’s been 6 months of “We have to get through all the birthdays first, then we go to Disneyworld.  We have Nana’s, then Mason’s, then Mommy’s, then Christmas, then Cooper’s, then Kristin’s, then Daddy’s, then Papa’s, and then we go to Disneyworld.”  On the day of Papa’s birthday, Mason pulled out her and Cooper’s suitcases and started packing.  She told Cooper that we would go to Papa’s house for cake and then go to Disneyworld.  Oh, the heartache that followed when we told her it would still be another 2 weeks.  She had been right, literally…  after Papa’s birthday, we would go to Disneyworld.  I can’t blame the girl.

Princesses, Gabriella, Pixar... She is a true Disney girl.

Then there is Cooper.  He was 6 weeks old when we first went to Disneyworld.  Obviously he spent the majority of the time asleep against Papa’s chest in our Baby Bjorn.  The idea of Disney is new to him.  The idea of vacation is new to him really.  But if you mention that we could see Lightning McQueen, he’s all in.  If you tell him we could go on a ride with Buzz and Woody, he’s interested.  If you tell him we’ll get to go in Minnie Mouse’s house, he can’t wait.  I am so excited to see his reaction to the magic that is Disneyworld.

Cooper at Disneyworld in 2008. Oh how the times have changed!

So now that the countdown of days is over, and we’re into the countdown of hours, my stomach lurches a bit for the unknown and the known.  We know where we’re staying and all the fun things the resort has to offer.  We know we’ll get to go to Magic Kingdom, Animal Kingdom, Hollywood Studios, and SeaWorld.  (Hopefully Epcot is a definite stop as well because I can’t wait to go shopping again at the Japanese store!)  We don’t know if the weather will cooperate though.  As of today, Sunday and Monday look awesome, but the rest of the week has chance of rain.  We don’t know if we’ll get to go swimming.  (We’ve had to play that one down a bit with the kids so as not to break their hearts if it doesn’t happen.)  We don’t know if the break in routine will totally mess with the kids.  We don’t know if they will be able to share a bed comfortably.

Most importantly, though, I know that we will have a great time no matter what.  I know that we will create memories that will last a lifetime.  I know that we will cherish this trip as a true gift and appreciate all it has to offer.

Now back to packing and prepping…  The big question…  Should I pack an extra bag for our treasures?

Can't wait for a new family pic!

 

One Response to “Prepping for Vacation”

  1. Annie Says:

    Hope you have so much fun and can’t wait to hear all about it when you get back! 🙂


Leave a Reply

