Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Thankful January 18, 2010

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 2:19 pm

I know I have written about what I am thankful for many times before.  But this morning, as I looked at pictures and news reports from Haiti, I couldn’t help but be teary-eyed.  The devastation, the loss of life – not only human life, but of the lives of those that survived who will have to rebuild their lives from the ground up.  The stories of those still waiting to hear from loved ones, still hoping for a miracle.  And then there are the hopeful stories – those of survivors being pulled out of crumbled buildings and of the orphaned children whose adoption paperwork is buried in rubble, but who are getting a fast ticket to their new homes and families with the help of government officials.  It’s gut-wrenching and heartwarming all at the same time.

As I sit in my little office at work, I look forward to going home and hugging my kids and my husband.  I am thankful for them.  I am thankful for what we have, for our lives.  So many have lost that now.  I know firsthand that things can be ripped out from under you in an instant, and that makes it all more necessary to do all we can to help those in need right now.  I know that I will spend the evening trying to figure out how I can help those in Haiti – whether it is sending clothes and blankets or money or both.  It’s amazing already to see the outpouring of support.  I am in awe of those who have dropped their own lives to go down there and help.   They are truly amazing souls, and I am thankful for them as well.

I don’t have much else to say on this…  I just know that in times like these, we are all forced to reevaluate what is important in life.  Sadly, so many of us (me included) do this exercise for a month or maybe two and then get right back into the routine of our own little sheltered lives, rarely thinking twice about what we have and how lucky we are to have it.  I hope I can do it differently this time.  I hope that I can find the true good in every day of my own little life and figure out how to spread that to the larger world.

 

One Response to “Thankful”

  1. Meema Says:

    You’re right, Ro, it is gut wrenching, more than any one of us could ever imagine. And the frustration of it all, is that we can’t get enough help there in time to save so many lives that are twittering on edge of death.

    Today I was out at the Martinsburg airport and there were extra planes out there–a 747 Evergreen Cargo, privately contracted and loading up with equipment and supplies to head to Haiti. I couldn’t help but wonder if Dad were still with us…would he be airlifting supplies and evacuating US survivors back home to family and safety?

    It’s hard to know how to help…$$, time, goods, prayers? Such a crises brings out the “humanity” in each of us…just as your words did for me tonight. Thank you dear daughter.
    Love, meema


Leave a Reply

