Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

What Could Have Been December 19, 2009

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 6:02 am

I’m not sure where I’ve gone wrong in my baking lately.  Ok, maybe I should correct that…  My baking is fine.  It’s the final touches that just aren’t going as planned.  I’m not sure if I’m putting too much pressure on myself for it all to be perfect or if I really just don’t have the talent I feel I should have.  I’m a detail-oriented person, but somehow that is not translating into my decorating skills.  (Maybe it has something to do with the fact that I rarely get 5 minutes to myself in the kitchen.)

My latest example is this:

This is supposed to look like an ornament.  A cupcake ornament – cute idea, right?  Well, my execution was less than satisfactory for me.  Despite crumb coating all the cupcakes, I still ended up with crumby icing.  (At least it looks like cookies and cream. Yum!)  I decided to make only green icing, and there are a lot fewer red MnM’s than expected in the Christmas bags, so the majority of my cupcakes would have been all green.  And the real kicker?  After making several trips to the store to ensure I got everything I needed to make these cute little things for Mason’s school holiday party, I remembered that Mason’s class is nut-free.  Meaning, the peanut butter cup ornament topper would not work.  (Good thing I realized it before finishing all of them!)

So here is what went to school:

They looked decent enough.  In the end, I know it doesn’t matter.  The kids will eat anything, so who am I trying to impress?  Honestly, I don’t care what the other mom’s think.  I care what I think, and I don’t like putting out less than perfect baked goods.  It’s just the way I roll.  So I’ll need to either bring my perfection tendencies down a notch or make time to do things the way I really want them. 

Note: There were so many other treats at the party (despite the sign-up sheet only showing cookies and cupcakes as an option), the kids didn’t even eat the cupcakes there.  They were each given a plastic bag with a cupcake in it at the end of the day to take home.  Can you guess what they looked like then?

 

One Response to “What Could Have Been”

  1. Pat Donohoe Says:

    Robin–I love your blog and the less-than-perfect cupcake. Both have lots of personality and loving humor, like their creator! Have fun today with all the snow–maybe some zany snow people?


Leave a Reply

