Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

A Smile On My Face October 19, 2009

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 3:24 pm

I went to bed last night with a smile on my face.  At least from what I remember, I did.  I was pretty tuckered out and fell asleep about as soon as my head hit the pillow.  It had been a lazy Sunday – perfect for the rainy weather outside and as the aftermath to a very busy Saturday.

Despite our grand plans of going to the Shenandoah Balloon and Wine Festival and then camping out for Mason’s birthday, we celebrated closer to home due to the weather.  I had really been looking forward to camping, but I was certainly not going to stay in a wet tent in 35 degree weather!  That’s always the problem with Mason’s birthday date.  October is tricky when it comes to planning and the weather.  We have gotten fairly lucky the previous 3 years, but I guess our luck had run out.  Cold rainy weather ruled the weekend.

Back-up plans went into effect.  Duckpin bowling became the event of the day!  We all had a great time, and it was good family bonding with Meema, Jen, Nana, Papa and Kristin.  (We missed Scott, though!)

Mason learned granny-style.

Mason learned granny-style.

 

Jen and Cooper rest while waiting for his ball to hit the pins.

Jen and Cooper rest while waiting for his ball to hit the pins.

 

After bowling, we came home to some delicious beef stew that had been cooking in dueling  crockpots all night and morning.  Perfect for the cold day.  Then came the presents.

Princess dress-up fun!  Thanks Kristin!

Princess dress-up fun! Thanks Kristin!

 

Cooper cheered Mason (and the football teams) on as she opened lots more great presents.  Thanks everyone!

Cooper cheered Mason (and the football teams) on as she opened lots more great presents. Thanks everyone!

 

Finally cookie cake and ice cream time.  No grand baking experiment from me for this birthday.

Finally cookie cake and ice cream time. No grand baking experiment from me for this birthday.

 

It really had been a great day.  Sadly, the day ended with the effects that two kids and no naps gets you.  I guess the fact that Mason is now four has not made it to her brain (whichever side handles the emotions and temper tantrums) because she went all out to finish off her birthday week.  Cooper then always tries to one-up her with his bedtime routine.  Let me tell you…  good times at the Lake house Saturday night! 

But as I said, we had our lazy Sunday that made up for it.  Woodside with Jen, watched a movie, played Mason’s new HSM Sing-It on Wii, walked around Tysons, enjoyed fajitas…  Taking the Saturday night tantrums out of the mix, it was no wonder I fell asleep with a smile on my face last night.

 

Leave a Reply

