Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Just Another Day? October 6, 2009

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 10:55 am

When I was about 12 years old, my dad and I were on our way to soccer practice after picking up a teammate.  On the way out of my teammate’s neighborhood, I threw a piece of chewed gum out the window.  My dad slammed on the brakes and put the car in reverse.  He told me that we do not litter and to get out of the car and find the piece of gum that I had thrown.  Yes, he was serious.  I reluctantly got out of the car and searched through the gravel on the side of the road looking for my gum.  After about 5 minutes of searching and whining, I found my gum.  Needless to say, I have not littered since!

I had to laugh to myself yesterday when I did almost the same thing to Mason’s friend, Luka.  We were walking to my office, and the girls had been eating apples.  When I looked at Luka at one point, I noticed she was not carrying an apple anymore.  I asked her what happened to it.  She shrugged her shoulders.  I told her that we do not litter, and that on the way back home we would be searching for that apple to pick up and put in the trash.  Luckily on the way  home, Mason noticed the apple in the street.  Luka had to pick up the dirty apple and take it home to put in the trash.  Who knows if she learned the lesson as well as I did  20 years ago, but I hope it made a small impact.  I know my dad was laughing from above.

Tomorrow is October 7th.  For many people, it is just another day.  But for me, it was the day that changed my life forever 17 years ago.  To my dad – I love you and miss you.  And I cherish all of our memories together, even the “finding chewed gum on the side of the road” ones.

 

4 Responses to “Just Another Day?”

  1. Meema Says:

    hey ro….will call tonight. taking tomorrow off. somehow this year’s a little harder than all the 16 before, loved the story about dad. hugs, meema

  2. Jenny Says:

    It’s amazing what we learn from our parents and grandparents! It’s those little moments that we realize how much they have influenced who we have become and how we influence others in our lives. My love to the Steinberger ladies today…

  3. Rachel Says:

    Robin – i thought of you on that day. every intention to email or text. i truly can’t believe it’s been so long. my love to you and your family. xoxo

  4. Angela Says:

    Hey, girl. Love the story and how through you, your dad was able to teach that lesson to your little one and her friend. I knew that day was here and thought of you and your family. I will never forget that day or what I was doing when I found out. I was on my way out the door to soccer practice. It didn’t hit till later for me, because it was such unbelievable news, but when it did it hit hard. I will never forget your dad or the impact he had on my life. I was very blessed to know you and your family and I am infinitely grateful that we are back in touch. Love to you all.


Leave a Reply

