Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Bake-Off Results October 4, 2009

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 7:04 pm

Did you make a guess as to what I might have made for the bake-off?  Anyone?

Well, I know the suspense is killing you (yeah, not likely), so here is what I made.

DSC00276

Cupcake Bites

Looks delicious, doesn’t it?  Well, it was.  As were the other 80 or so I spent 3 hours making.  Don’t get me wrong!  I enjoyed it!  I was home alone with no kids to contend with; I had my music blaring; and I was eating the ones that went wrong.  Nothing bad with that set up.  I felt very confident in my choice.  I thought there would be a lot of cookie entries into the bake-off, so I didn’t make the bakery style chocolate chip cookies.  I felt the box mix part of the brookies did not fit into the “homemade” component.  And I just wasn’t in the mood for the chocolate toffee cookies.  Hence the cupcake bites.  Jeremy and I thought they would be winners because they were so unusual.  And I even made them “fall like” with the orange candy coating!

DSC00272

Unfortunately the judges of the bake-off did not agree.  I was beat by a 13-year-old boy!  And his mother!  And some other older woman!  Apparently the kid and his mom sweep the bake-off every year.  Something I could not have known considering this was the first fall picnic we have attended in the almost 6 years we’ve lived here.  Maybe if I had been before, I would have known that these cupcake bites were way over the top for the neighborhood bake-off.  Maybe if I had been before, I would have felt more confident in the brookies or bakery style chocolate chip cookies.  I’ll save those for next year. 

Until then, I’m going to enjoy my over-the-top cupcake bites.  And I’m going to continue to enjoy baking and sharing my goodies with others.  Because, in the end, that’s really what it is all about for me – loving what I’m doing and sharing it with my family and friends. 

 

One Response to “Bake-Off Results”

  1. Jen Says:

    They were absolutely delish! I cannot believe that you were out-baked, but I was definitely happy to enjoy the cupcake bites! Yum…


Leave a Reply

