Find Good In Every Day

One mom's attempt at finding good in every day of this chaotic world.

Bake-Off October 1, 2009

Filed under: Daily Blog — Robin @ findgoodineveryday @ 1:58 pm

When I read the words “Bake-Off”  on the flyer advertising the neighborhood picnic coming up this Saturday, I had mixed feelings of excitement and anxiety.  I often judge myself by how well I can bake (and how good of a mother, wife, daughter, and sister I am, yeah yeah yeah).  So the chance to have someone else judge me by my baking is enticing.  Ok, so I hope they don’t judge ME based on my baking; I’m sure the judges are told to just judge the baked goods themselves.  But who are these judges?  Being on the outskirts of our neighborhood, we have not made our presence well known at the annual function.  This is our first year attending the Linden Annual Picnic.  So do I go in trying to win, just place, or just to have fun?

Yes, my competitive spirit may have gotten the best of me.  Really, I just love baking things that  people like and appreciate.   It makes me feel good.  I would bake everyday if 1.) I had time, 2.) I had a bigger kitchen, 3.) I had more people with whom to share the goods.  (Let me know if you are a willing recipient.)  I have been known to single-handedly cause weight gain in some of my relatives and my own dear husband.  What is a baker to do, though?

Back to the Bake-Off…  After much contemplation and rifling through my recipe binders, I came up with a list of possibilities.

1.  Brookies (thanks to Angela C. for this great word for describing the brownie/cookie bar combination)

2.  Bakery Style Chocolate Chip Cookies (I have yet to master this one as well as my sister)

3.  Cake Pops or some variation (thanks to Bakerella)

4.  Giant Chocolate Toffee Cookies

What do you think I should bake?  What do you think I’ll choose to bake?

Well, you’ll have to just wait and see.  I will reveal what I entered into the Bake-Off and whether I got any recognition on Sunday.

Side note: In all honesty, I’m really looking forward to the picnic so that we can get to know our neighbors better.  We have noticed an increase in stroller traffic, and the new park has brought many more families out, so it seems there is  community around us after all.  Bake-off or not, let’s hope for good weather and good times.

 

Leave a Reply

